System Restore Question

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by Engineer, Nov 15, 2003.

  1. Engineer

    Engineer OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    89
    Hi Guys

    If I set a system restore point (e.g. "Before download") and then download a program, after a while if I return to the system restore point I created before I downloaded that program, what will happend to that program? I know it will no longer show but does it actually get deleted???


    Also, if that program contains a virus, what happens to the virus if I return to the restore point before I downloaded the program, given that the virus is in the program and has not moved somewhere else.

    Thanks
    Eng
     
  2. Perris Calderon

    Perris Calderon Moderator Staff Member Political User

    Messages:
    12,332
    Location:
    new york
    the registry returns to the original condition before the install, however, folders added by the program will remain
     
  3. coathanger007

    coathanger007 Tomorrow Tweaking Today

    Messages:
    1,520
    Location:
    Australia
    Execute it and you'll still be infected.