Suggestion for HD partition

zandyrei

TinySoft
Guys...

just asking whats the best partition when you have a 40GB HD

and where will i put the Games.... im using windows XP

the specs are in my signature, except for that 80GB HD...

====
guys im just a newB for PC thing...

don't partition the 40gb drive, use that the XP O/S and use the 80gb drive for games.

I think he means he doesnt have the 80 anymore - either way I wouldn't partition the 40Gb at all. I never do partition my drives unless they are large capacity.

You are right the drive is too small, it would be a good idea to get another drive, so the 40Gb is just for the OS, so if anything happens you don't have to worry about your other data.

If you ARE going to partition the drive, I would split it down the middle and go 20GB/20GB. This way you have ample space for games and data on the seperate partition.

20gb is hardly ample space, thats like 4-5 games worth now or HL2 and EQ2 and that would be it.

zandyrei said:
gusy im sorry.. can you teach me how to reformat?
Insert your XP disk let it boot it will give you an option to reformat (make sure you have your CD Key for Windows handy if you want to do this and most of all back up your important stuf to cdr or dvdr

Make sure you have all your Windows, Program and Hardware CD's before even thinking about reformatting. Note some computers like Dell, Compaq, HP do not come with driver and Windows CDs.

Step 1 - backup all your data. You should do this regularly anyway. WARNING! Downloaded music liscences must be backed up before formating or your music is lost forever.