Registering, authorizing???

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by Engineer, Oct 16, 2002.

  1. Engineer

    Engineer OSNN Addict

    When I log onto the net, I get these 2 dialogue boxes that pop up very quickly and then disapppear just before I connect.

    One says "Registering your computer onto the network" or something like that and the other "authorizing".

    I assume that the authorizing dialogue box is XP checking in with MS to make sure I have a legal copy, I'm not sure.

    Can anyone shed some light on this

    thank you
  2. yoyo

    yoyo _________________

    Certainly nothing to do with MS checking if you have a legal copy. These dialogues just inform you about the status of your connection. It first has to put in your username and password given to you by your ISP, you did check once remember username ...etc, then it connects , "registers" with the server of your ISP. Nothing to worry about.