Question about Java 1.4.2, Swing, and MSStyle files...

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by JSylvia007, Dec 19, 2003.

1. JSylvia007

JSylvia007 OSNN Junior Addict

I have a question pertaining to Java... I'm new to Swing, and javax, and all that, but i've been programming in java for about a year. I searched the web, but cant seem to find anyone who might have any insight to this problem.

I'm teaching myself swing, and decided that I would mess around with UIManage, to change the look of my application. Very Simple application, like i said, i'm only using it to learn swing... I can get the MetalLookAndFeel, and MotifLookAndFeel to work, but i can't seem to get the WindowsLookAndFeel to work correctly. You see, I'm using a "hacked" msstyles file. I created the theme using StyleBuilder, and windows accepts it fine, using the uxtheme patch found here on ntfs.org. When i tell my java application to use the WindowsLookAndFeel, it yells, and I get a dialog box that opens up and has the title "java.exe".

[​IMG]

Which I find strance since windows uses this file perfectly. So since that seemed to be a problem, I temporarily changed my theme back to the windows Luna default theme. My program worked without a hickup.

My question is... Why won't it use my MSStyles file if windows will? and where might I go to ask this question to Java Guru's?

my source code is available if you'd like to see what I did

~Jake

2. Geffy

Geffy Moderator Folding Team

there might be a way to give the application a uxtheme.dll file which it is supposed to use for its own uses, but I dont really know how you would go about that as the most Java messing I have done is the stuff on my course which currently is all console based.

3. punkandacoke

punkandacoke eat me

I think java doesn't like your skin. Try changing it and see if it works.

4. JSylvia007