Processor Upgrade

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Mr Dead, Aug 14, 2002.

  1. Mr Dead

    Mr Dead Guest

    Ok a couple of questions so here we go

    1) I currently have a thunderbird 1400 which I can o/c to 1550 so
    would I see a performance boost to justify the cost of upgrading to an Xp 1900 (the fastest my mobo can take)

    2) I am cosidering getting a dual proc system seen as I do alot of dvd re-encoding can I use xp processors if i join the L5 bridges or do I have to go for the Mp version which seems far more expensive?

    3) If I do go for the Xp1900 can I still increase the fsb even though the mobo only supports up to the 1900 processor?
     
  2. Geffy

    Geffy Moderator Folding Team

    Messages:
    7,805
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    MrDead, a dual processor system can actually slow down some pieces of software that werent written to take advantage of a dual CPU system. Bear this in mind.

    You can OC the XP1900 to beyond 1900, but you wont be covered by the board manfacuturer warranty if there is one. You may also see stablity issuses if you OC to beyond the 1900 on a board that isnt designed to go beyond the XP 1900.
     
  3. blinden

    blinden OSNN Senior Addict

    Messages:
    268
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pa, USA
    are you aboslutely sure your board only supports up to 1900+? you couldn't do a bios upgrade or anything to support a faster processor?
     
  4. Geffy

    Geffy Moderator Folding Team

    Messages:
    7,805
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    thats possible. My board didnt support more than 1100 when I got it, now I can do up tp 1500
     
  5. Mr Dead

    Mr Dead Guest

    Nope, unfortunately not. Ive flashed with the latest bios and 1900 xp is as fast as it will go. My mobo is a Qdi Legend Kudoz 7.
     
  6. dijital

    dijital Guest

    personally, i dont think its a good idea to upgrade since you already have a 1400. i'd go and buy more ram.
     
  7. Cosmin

    Cosmin Graphic Designer

    Messages:
    1,633
    Location:
    Romania
    An XP1900+ is a good ideea I think ..
     
  8. Mr Dead

    Mr Dead Guest

    I allready have 512 mb ddr ram and my processor is the 266 version so the multiplier is already unlocked. So would I notice a big increase between an xp1900 and a thunderbird o/c to 1550 in video encoding using cinema craft encoder. Ive heard the SSE instruction set in the XP speeds things up a bit?
     
  9. Mr Dead

    Mr Dead Guest

    p.s. ive been offered £55 for my thunderbird and old heatsink so its only going to cost me £27 to upgrade to the xp1900 so I think im gonna have to give it a go. The same guy bought a gforce 4 mx440 which for some reason just wouldnt work on his system so he swapped it for my gforce 2 mx 400. May not be the best video cards out but still a good swap me thinks!!!!!!!
     
  10. Geffy

    Geffy Moderator Folding Team

    Messages:
    7,805
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    lol, you are doing well out of this deal.
     
  11. [CpK]Bastid

    [CpK]Bastid Guest


    howdy stranger