Problem with Photoshop 6.0

Discussion in 'Desktop Customisation' started by nubs, Apr 8, 2002.

  1. nubs

    nubs Guest

    Hello everyone, my problem is kinda complicated I think.

    I have photoshop 6.0 installed and it used to run fine. Lately it takes upwards of 75 seconds to open it up. Im running an AMD 1900 xp with 512 megs of ram and have over 11 gigs of open space on one drive and 13 gigs of open space on another. When I load Photoshop 6.0 up it gives me this message.

    "Photoshop's scratch file and Windows Page file volume are on the same drive, please change Photoshops scratch file to drive other than the one being used by windows." or somehting to that effect.

    I've tried reinstalling ps, deleting preference and settings files can anyone give me a definitive way to fix this problem? I've even changed the scratch file to another drive while the page file system was on my main drive. This really sucks pelase help!
     
  2. allan

    allan Guest

    I can't promise this will help, but here's what I'd try:

    I'd move the paging file to any drive other than my boot drive (where XP is located). I'd set the size of the paging file for 768 - both minimum AND maximum (cuts way down on fragmentation within the page file).

    After rebooting, I'd then uninstall and reinstall Photoshop.

    Worth a shot.
     
  3. snaarplukker

    snaarplukker Guest

    Maybe this will help:

    Preferences > Memory & Image Cache
    Set the Physical Mem to 60-75%(max.)
    Then close Photoshop and start again....

    Did you install new plugins like KPT or so this will sometimes couse a lot of strange problems..If you did try to close the new ones and try again.

    Good luck!
     
  4. nubs

    nubs Guest

    No go!

    Crap guys, neither of those suggestions worked. ANyone else have any ideas?
     
  5. nubs

    nubs Guest

    Update

    So this is what I have found out concerning my problem, when I log on as a seperate user the problem does not occur. PS loads up perfectly so I'm thinking it has to do with my user configurations, but when I delted them it just created new ones and I get the same problem.