performance difference between 64/32bit?

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Hey all,

I some one here that would like me to change their XP OS to Vista on their 4400+AMD/2GIG RAM machine.

I am wondering if there is a noticable difference overall performance-wise between x64bit and x32bit

Not compatibility issues, just overall performance on the same machine.

Thanks,

Heeter

not really, as far as i know

I kinda figured, but I thought I'd ask first, As I have no knowledge whatsoever with Vista.

Thanks,

Heeter

Vista x64 bit SP1 is apparently the fastest via some benchmarks I have seen out there, compared to 32bit and XP with SP3. Small margin though I think....

I haven't noticed much difference but I did notice that when I have a LOT of stuff going on, the natively running 64-bit apps seem to perform better.

Of course, this may just be my additional memory coming into play :eek:

I have to love 8GB of RAM, even more so when I did an analysis on my disk to find where some large files where - my page file was huge :eek:

Yes on my PC ...........more multi tasking = greater difference over Vista 32
Especially synchronising files across 4 hard drives.

I have to love 8GB of RAM, even more so when I did an analysis on my disk to find where some large files where - my page file was huge :eek:

with 4gb ram mine is 6.5gb - 8gb - normal formula is 2x the ram in your system 1.5x if you dont have a lot of space

with 4gb ram mine is 6.5gb - 8gb - normal formula is 2x the ram in your system 1.5x if you dont have a lot of space
I'm not positive 2 times ram is recomended by microsoft when you have over two gigs of memory in 64, I know it's not on a 32 bit os from ms

I'm not sure on 64 bit though, I never studied the differances, the rule of thumb of 2 or one and a half ram was created by microsoft when they didn't think people would have more then two gigs and when all we were looking at was 32 bit operating systems