Parity Issue?

H

harmont

I received an error on my machine that came up all of a sudden. I had not done anything to prompt any problems and have not had any problems since going to XP. The error says:

Hardware Malfunction

Call your hardware vendor for support.

NMI: Parity check/memory parity error

The system has halted.

Can someone offer a course of action other than the obvious?

It has happened 4 times in the course of several hours.

:confused: :mad: :(

This is an error at boot-up correct? If so, go in to your bios settings and see if you have ECC enabled. If you do disable it.

Did you recently install more memory?

parity error

are you / or have you got 2 different types of memory installed?
into bios change parity check from enabled to disabled

:confused: Thanks for the quick reply. I added a 256 PC100 about 3 months ago. I went to the Bios setting, and I have to say, I am a novice. I did not see anything referring to ECC settings. If you could guide me to it, I think I can manage.

The error has come up more often this evening.

Thank you for your help.

:cool:

I'm not sure what bios you have. I'll guide you as if you have one like mine.

I have an Award Bios chip. My setting for "Memory Parity/ECC Check" is under Advanced chipset features.

If your Bios chip is different, try to identify it and list it here so someone who has it might be able to help you.

In the meantime, pull the offending chip. That should fix your problems in the interim.

Thanks. It says Phoneix. I think that may it. I did not see advance chipset feature in mine. Then of course, I may not be looking in the right place.

I have two chips in. One is the orginal and then the 256 I installed. I have not had them out to get them checked. So I am not sure which it is. It is so intermittent ( the errors).

Thanks again for your response.