Overclocking barton 2500+

Y

Yngwie_II

Hey guys
I was wanting to know about overclocking the
AMD barton 2500+. I have a asus a7n8x motherboard.
With the 1002.A bios. Not Uber though.
I would like to know the absolutely easiest totally safest
way to do it. So i guess the best way (if possible) would be
to just install the chip, go in bios, put 200mhz and have
my ram sync onto it (i have ddr400) and then click safe changes.
I have read so many different ways, some easy like that, others
saying you have to unlock this and that, and need special
tools to measure this and that. I'm not really good with that, and
no matter how simple they write it (i just read the CHIP overclock
to 3600+ thing, don't understand crap of it) I never feel comfortable
to do it. Could anyone tell me the safest easiest way, and what
exactly needs to happen to what, and if other agp values need
to be changed, stuff like that.

Thx a lot

Yngwie II

Read the instructions carefully. The only way you will gain the ability and confidence to overclock is simply to do it.:)

I'm sure you will be guided in your overclocking adventures by the great people at NTFS.org. Happy overclock - Snook out!

I suggest u just leave it alone, its a 2500+ for cryin out loud, if u where smart u would leave it alone. if not this is the only way your gonna be able to do it :p

go ino your bios and up your FSB from 166 to whatever go a few mhz at a time so from 166 to like 170 then go back into windows play some games for an hour or so and see if your pc crashes. if not keep bringing it up until it does crash or won't boot into windows. then back it off to the last working setting you had IE 170. and when your computer becomes unstable you COULD up the Vcore to make it stable again but your getting alot more risky there but as I said b4 u should just leave it alone. :confused:

http://www.sharkyextreme.com/hardware/guides/cpu_oc_guide/index.shtml

Thats a good starting point to give you an idea what its all about