Outlook 2007, multiple windows.

Discussion in 'Windows Applications' started by Electronic Punk, Jul 27, 2009.

  1. Electronic Punk

    Electronic Punk Administrator Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    18,590
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Could someone check to see if they are able to run multiple copies of Outlook?

    I don't like this behaviour if thats the case, would much prefer doing so brings the previous instance into focus or nothing at all.

    Pretty sure it wouldn't have multiple copies on Windows Vista.
     
  2. Dark Atheist

    Dark Atheist Moderator Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    6,376
    Location:
    In The Void
  3. Electronic Punk

    Electronic Punk Administrator Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    18,590
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Yeah, wrong way around. It is running multiple copies when I don't want it to! :D
     
  4. Dark Atheist

    Dark Atheist Moderator Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    6,376
    Location:
    In The Void
    you mean too many outlook.exe's in task manager? if so close outlook and kill them all, 2007 does have an issue with closing down properly sometimes, i used to get that a lot, why i started using thunder-bird, if thats not what you mean meh :D
     
  5. Electronic Punk

    Electronic Punk Administrator Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    18,590
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Nope. More like the attached - sections pixellized on purpose ;p
     

    Attached Files:

  6. fitz

    fitz Just Floating Along Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    4,076
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    you can have multiple windows of Outlook running off a single outlook.exe instance.. by just running outlook.exe again. It will open another window, but will use the same single process. This CAN be useful if you want one window with your calendar up and another with your mail up..

    I think you can add the "/recycle" switch and it will reuse an existing window - but I'm not sure how to make that the default option..
     
  7. Dark Atheist

    Dark Atheist Moderator Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    6,376
    Location:
    In The Void
    prob add the /recycle option to the shortcut
     
  8. Electronic Punk

    Electronic Punk Administrator Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    18,590
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Hmm, perhaps it always had that ability, just never noticed.
    I don't seem to be able to modify the shortcut either sadly.

    It doesn't have a jump list though so I guess I could creat a new shortcut if it really bothers me.
     
  9. kcnychief

    kcnychief █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    16,948
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Just FYI - the shutdown issues, among many other things, were resolved with Office 2007 SP2.
     
  10. Dark Atheist

    Dark Atheist Moderator Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    6,376
    Location:
    In The Void
    if they were, then why was it still doing it after i installed sp2? ;)
     
  11. kcnychief

    kcnychief █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    16,948
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Don't know, probably another issue with your system. Probably one of the more significant SP's for Office in recent memory. The developer pre-release was a seperate hotfix just for that issue.

    Read this for more info:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/953195

    Definitely made a huge impact in our environment.
     
  12. Dark Atheist

    Dark Atheist Moderator Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    6,376
    Location:
    In The Void
    sp2 did speed up office i will agree, all im saying is that should i be using other apps at the same time as outlook should have no effect on its ability to close properly, whether the cpu load be at 0% or 100%.

    Makes no difference to me now as i don't use it, only word and excel :)
     
  13. fitz

    fitz Just Floating Along Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    4,076
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    outlook would also not close properly if you had add-ins loaded into Outlook or had another external 3rd party app that talked to Outlook. These applications or add-ins would hold the outlook process open..

    Getting back to EP's topic:
    I believe some of the older versions did different things. For some reason, I remember outlook 2000 doing this but not 2003 and seeing it again in 2007.. my memory may be fuzzy though so I make no guarantees that I remember it all correctly.