Norton 2003

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by delta4s, Dec 18, 2002.

  1. delta4s

    delta4s BLACK HAWK ALOFT

    Messages:
    340
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Norton 2003 seems to be slowing up the startup process. Anybody know of any cures ?
    Can we turn off the ccapp.exe and other programs that it initializes safely ?
    Thanks .
     
  2. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    No, you cannot turn off or disable those services. NIS/NAV need those to function correctly. However, you could give bootVis a try and see if it can optimize your start up.
     
  3. delta4s

    delta4s BLACK HAWK ALOFT

    Messages:
    340
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    I have used BootVis too.Maybe I need to upgrade my Celeron 466 :).
     
  4. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    Christmas.. It is the season.. =)
     
  5. RobbieSan

    RobbieSan Guest

    you could try turning off options like "scan on run or created" etc.. I usually have mine disabled so it doesn't slow my system down.. I do keep "scan email" running and I scan each file I download to be safe..

    I only recommend disabling NAV and options if you keep on top of updates and manual scans.. otherwise for many users it's best to keep NAV at it's default settings to scan as usual..
     
  6. Lighter

    Lighter . . . . . . . . .

    Messages:
    229
    Location:
    NYC
    Actually, NAV2K3 is a resource hog at shutdown/resume, not startup.

    As for the Celeron 466...well, it makes for a nice tree ornament.:happy:
     
  7. delta4s

    delta4s BLACK HAWK ALOFT

    Messages:
    340
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    I do keep updating , but I dont do manual scans regularly.I have done as Robbie recommended , and it does seem to make a
    slight difference (on My PC ! :p )

    Lets do a poll on how many users are using processors below 500 MHz for Win XP.
     
  8. Elroy Jetson

    Elroy Jetson Little Dipper School

    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Yes, get AVG AntiVirus for free, it does the same trick as norton, and does not slow you system down!!!

    EJ :cool:
     
  9. neonwizard

    neonwizard OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    78
    @delta4s are you on Xdsl connection to the net? if so go to control panel/network connections/lan& high-speed internet/right click/properties/internet protocol [TCP/IP]/ properties/Use the following IP Address

    IP Address: 192.168. 0. 1

    Subnet mask: 255.255.255. 0


    see if that helps
     
  10. delta4s

    delta4s BLACK HAWK ALOFT

    Messages:
    340
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    I am on a cable connection , sharing a 1 Mbps line. I already have an IP address. If I change that, my connection might not work.
    I havent tried AVG yet, though.
     
  11. delta4s

    delta4s BLACK HAWK ALOFT

    Messages:
    340
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Maybe I should switch back to NAV 2002 . It worked better than NAV2k3.
     
  12. neonwizard

    neonwizard OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    78
    This is another IP address that goes on , This IP should be on the Local Area Connection, when you go into network connections it's the second icon on the bottom you use this for, I know it work as I have to do it too and I use norton pro 2002.
     
  13. delta4s

    delta4s BLACK HAWK ALOFT

    Messages:
    340
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    yes I am using the Local Area Connection to share an internet connection and I have already typed an IP address there (192.168.100.x)
     
  14. Singleman593

    Singleman593 Guest

    you can also try PC BOOSTER.....THIS IS GREAT.
    THE HEIGHTS OF GREAT MEN WERE REACHED AND KEPT...BUT NOT BY SUDDEN FLIGHT.
     
  15. razzler

    razzler Guest

    disable wia

    Had the same problem. Try to disable the WIA (Windows Image Acquisition) service. It worked for me
     
  16. delta4s

    delta4s BLACK HAWK ALOFT

    Messages:
    340
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    I shifted to AVG before I could try this out, I will try it out when I next install NAV 2k3. Thanks for the hint though, razzler:)
     
  17. roban

    roban Guest

    Why anyone would want to use NAV is beyond me. AVG does a great job, auto updates has e-mail integration and is not a system hog like NAV. Besides all the rest of its great features it is FREE....FREE. I run the pro edition and the only difference I can see over the FREE one is the interface. If you have NAV especially 2003 on your system or System Jerks 2003 my advice is to GET IT OFF YOUR COMPUTER YOU DON'T NEED IT!