noisy cpu fan

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by DFX, Sep 12, 2003.

1. DFX

DFX OSNN Senior Addict

i have a coolermaster heatsink and fan for my (athlon xp) computer. i need to know if you can buy new fans for these (60mm) and where is the best place in the uk? will any 60mm fan do?

i was also thinking of getting a zalman flower cooler. are they easy to replace? i need some sort of paste don't i? is this risky, or is it worth the risk when i can just get a quieter fan?

2. ming

ming OSNN Advanced

Try the cooling shop
    http://www.thecoolingshop.co.uk/tcs/home.asp

I shop there occasionally for stuff related to cooling, quite good there, just not Thermaltake products available yet.
    Free delivery on orders over £5 or something like that.

3. DFX

DFX OSNN Senior Addict

thanks ming. would you recommend i just buy a replacement fan or will a new heatsink be better - i want a quiet pc.

4. ming

ming OSNN Advanced

Depends on the temperature of your machine (cpu) at full throttle.
    If the temp is over 55C then you might want to change the heatsink too.
    The Coolermaster Aero7+ seems quite good with the airflow and also includes a fan controller. :)
    If you're looking for a quiet machine, try and look in the description of the products regarding the noise. Usually anything under 22dBA is quiet enough.

5. Cosmin

Cosmin Graphic Designer

Not so easy as the others .. I've missed winter and here it comed :D ( 35 degrees )

6. Vector_One

Vector_One Guest

You want a quieter PC? Here you go. Everything you'll ever need to know:

SilentPCReview

7. Gus K

Gus K NTFS abuser

Coolermaster products tend to be rather quiet, did the fan just start getting niosy?.

Seeing as you asking this question you might be better off just replacing the fan, as installing some coolers can be a bit tricky the first couple of times.

8. LeeJend

LeeJend Moderator