Newbie!

Eagle710

OSNN Senior Addict
I am a newbie @ Linux i was wondering which version i should use?? something easy that would get me use to linux, also some answers like do i need to install an internet connection, anti virus or anything that should be seriously considered. Thanx

well if you want something easy and simple to get started with then i would go with ubuntu, kubuntu, mandrake these are simple and nice to use.
but if you want a good one get suse 9.3 it just came out it has
kde 3.4
kernel 2.6.11.4
mozilla 1.0.1
and lots of other cool features
as for internet you dont need to worry a lot about that it's done for you during set up

... and when it comes to anti virus, you don't need to care at all. Linux viruses do exist, but they are extremely rare (we're talking about 40 or so compared to the 60000 Windows viruses) and hardly very dangerous, so it's really no point.

dont use linux until you know hardware inside out. I know people do but its stupid. Linux requires alot of pc knowledge despite all the market, spin and the more hardcore "fans"/"zealots" that you will find around.

Stick to windows.

and most of the impact of them are reduced by the fact that the average linux user never runs as root, same reason for the lack of mac osx virus's

LordOfLA said:
dont use linux until you know hardware inside out. I know people do but its stupid. Linux requires alot of pc knowledge despite all the market, spin and the more hardcore "fans"/"zealots" that you will find around.

Stick to windows.

I partially agree with this. Linux does not require alot of PC knowledge, rather, it requires that you are able to read the documentation for your hardware to find the required values.

The latest few distributions that have come out like SuSe, Mandrake, Ubuntu, Kubuntu all make it relatively easy for a new person to use Linux, however don't expect miracles. Take your time, and make sure to read the documentation for your hardware when setting up Linux.