Need Remote Assistance Qualified "XP"ert for fee, possible ongoing thing.

S

shokan

I am an aspiring 3D computer artist and have a system running XP Professional (as an upgrade from W2k Pro) with dual AMD 1.2 Mb each MP processors on a Tyan 2460 board, 512 memory, 20G HD, 3DLabs Wildcat II 5000 graphics board. Self-built, but pretty stupid about computers. I need assistance with some problems, maybe using Remote Assistance, for someone who'd like to try this.

Here are my current issues, among many:

*** Figure out how I can open up ZIP files. I need to install latest SiSoft Sandra standard to evaluate my system from a recently downloaded ZIP. At last stage of install from the ZIP wizard I get a message headed with "Windows can't open a 16-bit program" and goes on to say the path is incorrect. I sure would like to open dang ZIP files like other folks do. Some I have DO open though, which has got me stumped. I have two places, WINNT/prefetch and Windows/prefetch, with similar-type unopenable files in each and one is where the latest sandra.exe is.

*** After the Sandra evaluation is done and looked over for the purpose of possibly determining why I have numerous problems with my system, I need someone to help me figure out why I cannot achieve normal broadband cable Internet speeds when any other machine on same connection with same card, same modem, gets great speeds of 200 kbs. Mine always gets 35-40kbs despite about 15 attempts by tech support to get my settings right.

I also would really love to see this Remote Assistance thing being used to do the above. If you are interested in doing Remote Assistance for a fee, please be quite experienced. I would like to use your help using Remote Assistance on an ongoing basis when I get stuck, which could be often.

Thanks,
Peter

Rather then using Windows' built in .zip unpacker, get a commercial program like WinZip. They are much better and much more advacned.