Need Help with Critical WinXP Problem

R

Rob Snoozer

Hello:

I have been using WinXP Pro for 4 months now - with no problems. Yesterday - during a reboot I got this error:
ISASS.exe - Endpoint Format is Invalid -- and the sytem rebooted.

I tried to recover via Recovery Console - no errors from chkdsk - and a roll back of the registry hive using WinRescue XP, etc... also didn't work.

I then made a critical mistake and contacted MS Support and after an interminable wait - I was advised to to a Repair Reinstall.

I ran setup and did the repair - and during the first setup reboot - I got the BSOD with the following error message --- NO_MORE_IRP_STACK_LOCATIONS 0x00000035, and the system would reboot. I have not gotten past this screen. I haven't been able to find any other reference anywhere to this problem in windows xp installs.

There were a number of suggestions to resolve the problem - and I did all of them.

I went to bios - checked all settings - dropped RAM from 768 to 256 - removed all unnecessary peripherals, installed a basic AGP video card, changed all the BIOS entries (RAM speed to 100 from 133, remove all Ram shadowing etc) ... and tried again. Still no success...

Finally - I decided to install Windows XP on my D drive - (20gb). It installed without problem.

This of course suggests a hard disk drive problem. But none is apparent... I can access all files on the C (which is a 60 gig drive) ... I have used several hard disk drive diagnostic utilities (microscope, SANDRA, etc) and the C drive is fine.

I then tried to make a backup (dumb move - I've been up all night) and reinstall from the backup - no luck. The backup now has the partially completed install. I have a backup of my critical data - but I am not sure how to proceed.

I don't see how to get past this problem ... I don't want to lose the system as it is setup - and I don't have the time at the moment to completely reinstall all my software ...