moving many files(.mp3) in different folders at once?

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by forcer, Aug 24, 2004.

  1. forcer

    forcer OSNN Senior Addict

    Messages:
    413
    i installed itunes little did i know it messes your whole music libary up... i had a folder with over 15gb of mp3s and itunes decided to organise them into their own individual folder based on the mp3s tags... i dont want it like this, is there a way i can move all the mp3s in those folders to a new location.

    basically something to be able 2 scan the whole mp3 folders with all the other folders in, with the mp3s in then move them all to a new folder... possibly a dos command? any help appreciated
     
  2. yoyo

    yoyo _________________

    Messages:
    1,557
    Open a command window to the folder that contains the subfolders.

    Let's say your mp3 files are in folders like
    D:\Tunes\album 1
    D:\Tunes\album 2
    ...
    and you want to move all mp3 files inside these folders to D:\All My Music

    So at the command prompt you should see

    D:\Tunes>_

    Now type this command and press Enter:

    D:\Tunes>for /d %a in (*) do move "%a\*.mp3" "D:\All My Music"
     
  3. Xie

    Xie - geek - Subscribed User Folding Team

    Messages:
    5,275
    Location:
    NY, USA
    forcer, you can disable this option by going ' edit -> preferences -> advanced ' and unchecking ' Keep iTunes folder organized ' :)
     
  4. Android412

    Android412 OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    199
    Location:
    Hamilton, ON
    Thats one of the reasons I went bak to Winamp, obviously not the only reason, but that REALLY pissed me off when ITunes did that.
     
  5. Geffy

    Geffy Moderator Folding Team

    Messages:
    7,805
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    iTunes is Apple, Apple is Mac, iTunes should not exist on Windows or anything else, same goes for QuickTime

    thats my opinion anyways
     
  6. Xie

    Xie - geek - Subscribed User Folding Team

    Messages:
    5,275
    Location:
    NY, USA
    Yeah but same could then be said about any cross platform program.

    It's an option you can turn off .. if you didn't set it up before using it then you got what you wanted/deserve ;)