Motherboard & CPU

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Bman, Jan 1, 2008.

  1. Bman

    Bman OSNN Veteran Original

    Messages:
    8,799
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    My next upgrade is for the motherboard & cpu.

    Now right now I have the Nvidia Chipset Asus M2N32 SLI Deluxe motherboard with a AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4600+ 2.41GHz.

    I was reading and liking the idea of the Intel Quad core cpus.

    If I were to go with one of those which would be the best motherboard for that and would my 8800GT still work with it?
     
  2. Shamus MacNoob

    Shamus MacNoob Moderator Political User

    Messages:
    4,199
    Location:
    L'Ile Perrot Quebec
    All new boards work with the pci express card there is nothing after that yet, any one you want works, I say go for ASUS boards ... Nvidia chipsets ...
     
  3. Bman

    Bman OSNN Veteran Original

    Messages:
    8,799
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    does the intel quad core work with those motherboards?
     
  4. ming

    ming OSNN Advanced

    Messages:
    4,252
    Location:
    UK
    Think you should wait a bit longer if you're not desparate for a new PC. I wondering how the AMD Quad core will fare with the Intel ones since the AMD is true Quad core CPUs rather than 2 x dual Core dies.
    Mind you, in saying that I think I'd probably go for Intel anyway as their most recent processors outperform the X2.
     
  5. kcnychief

    kcnychief █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    16,948
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Also Penryn will hit the desktops from Intel sometime in Q1 of 2008. They already have some high end ones, but more cost effective models are coming soon :)
     
  6. LeeJend

    LeeJend Moderator

    Messages:
    5,291
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Newegg lets you sort MB's by which CPU is supported, including quads. But if the CPUs are not generally available yet I'd hold back. Compatibility issues don't always show up right away. Case in point the new MAD quad core server chips have a bug.

    The AMD quad core tests at Tom's did not go to well. They tried around 8 MB's with a quad core sample and only 2 worked and only after the latest bios was flashed. So the "quad core works with AM2" claim is questionable. Also, seperate test results showed a slight per core improvement over the Athlon X2 in the quad core CPU but nothing really impressive like the P4 to Core 2 die change.

    Intel still seems to be top dog for toop end systems. If you want cheap mid-high range AMD might be a better price performance trade.
     
  7. Bman

    Bman OSNN Veteran Original

    Messages:
    8,799
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    That would fit/work with my current motherboard?

    I kinda want a new motherboard anyways sine one of my PCI-E slots are dead.

    When will this be, and I thought AMD already has quad core out there?

    What is the cheapest Quad Core cpu at 3.0GHz right now?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 2, 2008
  8. ming

    ming OSNN Advanced

    Messages:
    4,252
    Location:
    UK
    They probably already have it out there but there's not a lot going on in terms of performance testing, well I haven't heard or seen anything yet.
     
  9. ming

    ming OSNN Advanced

    Messages:
    4,252
    Location:
    UK
    er...
    Athlon X2 -> Quad core is just 1 generation gap, compared to P4 -> Core 2 which is 2 or 3 generation gaps so there WILL be a impressive change.
     
  10. Shamus MacNoob

    Shamus MacNoob Moderator Political User

    Messages:
    4,199
    Location:
    L'Ile Perrot Quebec
    True ... I say look in your pockets and buy what you feel you can afford, the C2D are impressive there is no doubts, do we need 4 cpu's ? Will we really use them ? Will there be real world differences in the daily applications we run? I think the short answer is no ... so why not save a few bucks and grap a dual core ... its not like the cpu will not be fast enough to run anything you can throw at it.
     
  11. Bman

    Bman OSNN Veteran Original

    Messages:
    8,799
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Well I already have a 2.4GHz Dual Core, if I wanted to up my performance and pretty much anything I can, and be worth it right now what would I be looking for?

    Is there my cpu in a 3.0GHz version? I think there is only a 2.66, or recommend a dual core cpu over 3.0GHz?
     
  12. American Zombie

    American Zombie Moderator Staff Member Political User

    Messages:
    2,934
    Location:
    Seattle
    The 6400+ runs at 3.2 Mhz.
     
  13. ming

    ming OSNN Advanced

    Messages:
    4,252
    Location:
    UK
    If you got money to burn, can I have your current system? lol :p
    Seriously though, like Shamus mentioned, do you REALLY need to upgrade to 4 cores? To me, I've not really noticed stuff whizzing around and getting completed in half the time of a single core cpu. Heck, I'd even question whether dual core actually does complete tasks 25% faster. :)
     
  14. Dark Atheist

    Dark Atheist Moderator Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    6,376
    Location:
    In The Void
    amd 64 x2 i have here is faster than the ht p4 i got
     
  15. Bman

    Bman OSNN Veteran Original

    Messages:
    8,799
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Thanks, and the not getting Quad Core yet does make sense and I am going to wait but I would like a little bit more kick out my CPU which the 6400+ looks like its what I am looking for.

    Time to look for deals!!


    Now how about a nice new motherboard to fit that 6400+?

    *edit looks like my motherboard I have now is good for that CPU, but my one PCI-E slot is dead, I want a new one lol
     
  16. epk

    epk Moderator Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    1,241
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    well... quad core cpus are gonna be useful for games coming in late 2008 and 2009, alan wake is the proof of that


    also, a lot of cpu-intensive software use as many cores as possible (like (de)compressors, f@h, etc)


    multitasking should also be improved by a larger number of cores
     
  17. Shamus MacNoob

    Shamus MacNoob Moderator Political User

    Messages:
    4,199
    Location:
    L'Ile Perrot Quebec
    I would not buy a cpu with 2009 in mind ... thats 2 years ... a lifetime in this game.
     
  18. ming

    ming OSNN Advanced

    Messages:
    4,252
    Location:
    UK
    The P4 was like a move backwards from PIII to PII. lol only good for multimedia stuff rather than daily apps.
     
  19. Bman

    Bman OSNN Veteran Original

    Messages:
    8,799
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Well now I don't know, probably getting the 3.2Ghz dual core one since I don't have much more money to spend on the Quad Core ones.

    And I just looked up my motherboard right now and it's still 230 - 300 which I find surprising. I thought it was cheaper then that.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2008
  20. melon

    melon MS-DOS 2.0 Political User

    Messages:
    854
    Location:
    Ásgarðr
    The best bang-for-your-buck Intel quad-core is the 2.40 GHz Q6600 that I'm currently using, which goes for around USD $275 at NewEgg. The next higher C2Q is the 2.66 GHz CPU, but that one will set you back $540. Beyond that, there's only the "Extremes," which all seem to run $1000+, which I think is excessive, personally.

    Yes, there's lots of Asus motherboards that support these CPUs, so you'll have plenty to choose from. Personally, I'd go for a board that supports DDR2 over DDR3, if only because DDR2 is so cheap right now, while DDR3 is expensive with no noticeable performance increases currently to justify the cost.