Menus

bandmaster

Olympic Trombonist
I really like the horizontal menu that NTFS uses, especially getting a search box to appear direct from it, also the way that "search" and "quick links" uses a wipe effect when displaying the drop-down. Can I get someting like this for my site? - http/www.lincolnband.net - How's it done?

Please explain in simple terms - I am a novice.

There are 2 ways you can do this for your self.

1) Learn how to program, and read up on CSS and Javascript.

2) Buy VBulletin.

I suggest the first as it is more fun.

could also fudge the coding entirely as I would - make a small swf that has all the functionality and animation you need, then embed it in a layer higher than that of the rest of the page content, using the transparent background tag in the html
<param name = "wmode" value = "transparent">

granted, this way makes for more stuff to download, but the functionality is limitless

And people like me who have no flash are stuck looking at a page that has no way to navigate around it.

Flash, if used within certain limits, can make a site look pretty elegant. Sites made entirely with Flash or with huge pointless Flash animations all over the place, on the other hand, are just a pain.

X-Istence said:
And people like me who have no flash are stuck looking at a page that has no way to navigate around it.

You're the exception, not the rule.
tongue.gif

X-Istence said:
Get flash. No Flash = no badgers!

SPeedY_B: could you email macromedia asking if they have a FreeBSD version? Same with you Netryder.

They have none for FreeBSD, thus i am unable to use it. Second, if you want all kinds of people to visit your site, you should make people like me the rule, and not an exception.

But that is up to you, for me alt + f4 is closer by than a Flash plugin for Firefox for FreeBSD, so its up to the site designer. Really, i lose nothing not having flash, no annoying adverts, no random music playing, no stupid advertisements and whatnot.