Matt's Latest Project

Discussion in 'Windows Server Systems' started by madmatt, Dec 27, 2006.

  1. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    A few months ago I lost my biggest client and a network that I built from ground up. It was like losing my first child. I've decided to create a thread for my latest project. Let's call it my new baby.

    Infrastructure
    Router: Linksys RVS4000 4-Port Gigabit Security Router
    Switch: Linksys SD2008 8-Port Gigabit Switch
    Wireless Access Point: Linksys WAP54GP Wireless-G Access Point

    Server
    Dell PowerEdge SC1430
    CPU: Intel Xeon 5110 Processor (1.6GHz, 1066MHz FSB, 4MB Cache)
    RAM: 2GB 533MHz Dual Ranked Fully Buffered DIMMs
    HDD: 2X WD RE2 SATA (500GB, 3.0GBPS, 7200RPM, 16MB Cache)

    Environment
    OS: Windows Server 2003 R2 Enterprise (x64)
    Other: Microsoft Exchange Server 2007 Enterprise, Microsoft Forefront Security

    This should be fun.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2007
  2. kcnychief

    kcnychief █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    16,948
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Is this for you or for a client, and what's the desired end result?
     
  3. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    This, when completed, will be my network.
     
  4. Sazar

    Sazar F@H - Is it in you? Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    14,905
    Location:
    Between Austin and Tampa
    Nice configuration :)

    Do you have all the hardware already?
     
  5. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    I am installing Active Directory right now. I am probably going to end up reformatting and starting all over because this is likely a test run.

    I am a perfectionist.
     
  6. Grandmaster

    Grandmaster Electronica Addict Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    10,574
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    Or you have OCD. :p
     
    Vanquished likes this.
  7. kcnychief

    kcnychief █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    16,948
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    That is a pretty sweet setup regarding hardware though, I'd like to see what becomes of it :D
     
    Vanquished likes this.
  8. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    What gave it away?

    After the server is up and running (including Exchange) and I have tested the domain I will be installing Vista on my production system.

    Time for lunch.
     
  9. Geffy

    Geffy Moderator Folding Team

    Messages:
    7,805
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I'd recommend getting a SuperMicro chassis and the CPU, RAM and HDD's separately. The SM chassis use a lot less power than the Dells. The Dells just drink it down, power hungry beasts.
     
  10. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    Too late for that. I already purchased the hardware and upgraded the hard drives (I purchased those from Newegg).
     
  11. celticfan11

    celticfan11 Moderator

    Messages:
    744
    Location:
    Vernon, CT
    cisco router connected to netgear? why go such high end to such low end?
     
  12. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    I only wanted and needed a simple, unmanaged switch. A fellow engineer said he had great luck with this Netgear switch so I went with it. For $48.00 you can't go wrong. I can always upgrade later on.

    What do you recommend?
     
  13. celticfan11

    celticfan11 Moderator

    Messages:
    744
    Location:
    Vernon, CT
    how many ports do you need
     
  14. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    Eight ports is more than enough.
     
  15. NetRyder

    NetRyder Tech Junkie Folding Team

    Messages:
    13,256
    Location:
    New York City
    Nice. Let me know what your experiences are with Exchange 2007. :)

    My current Exchange 2003 server is not a 64-bit box, so it might be a while before I build a new machine that's capable of running 2007.
     
  16. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    For those of you who don't know why NR has that problem: Exchange 2007 is 64-bit only.
     
  17. celticfan11

    celticfan11 Moderator

    Messages:
    744
    Location:
    Vernon, CT
    ah then i guess ur netgear will do fine. Just have never anything good about netgear. only bad.
     
  18. Sazar

    Sazar F@H - Is it in you? Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    14,905
    Location:
    Between Austin and Tampa
    I've never had a problem with my netgear equipment.

    Now my linksys experience is a whole other story :)

    D-link has been pretty good but a coupla bad experiences sour the deal.

    To each their own. If this switch works for his needs, Matt's good to go ;)
     
  19. Beginning

    Beginning I'm Beginning Somehow...

    Wow...... That went so far over my head it was barely visible... :) But all those highclass words and numbers sound impressive.. :D Hope it works out as you planned! Good luck.
     
  20. lancer

    lancer There is no answer! Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    3,093
    Location:
    FL, USA
    i love netgear, well priced and dependable.
     
    Vanquished likes this.