Linux problem number 2

E

Ewen

I have two harddrives which I can alternat by using a HDD docking bay. On one drive I have Mandrake 9 which is working well apart from a kernel problem which I have enquired about in another thread.

I have tonight installed Red Hat 7.1 (twice) on the second drive but I cannot get into it. The logon requester appears and asks for the login name which I duly enter then it asks for the password which I enter and it shows Login Failed. The information is exactely as I enetered it during install but it fails everytime.

Being a complete newbie at Linux what do I do to overcome the problem... another install?

The only thing I can suggest is when you get to the logon screen type in 'root' then 'Enter'. This should give you admin priviliges, and you shouldn't need a password either. Once in Admin mode, type in 'startx' at the prompt and this should get you to the desktop dialog, where you choose your desktop (KDE/Gnome).

I must point out tho that running a second linux from another HDD caused me all sorts of problems with lilo inasmuch as once I had installed Mandrake to my second hard drive IT (Mandrake itself) decided to alter all the bloody drive letters, causing me to remedy the problem by physically altering the config files to mirror the changes.
Hope you haven't the same problems.....took me simply ages to do the repairs.

I think you will need a password for the root account, anything that will allow you to setup a fully working linux system without is VERY un-secure.

As for the user/pass problem the username and passwords will be case sensitve (you may have put a capital letter at the start of your name without thinking about it, or something like that?)

redhat will ask for one at install time, I highly doubt it would let you install a fully working operating system with no root password set.