Killing "delete shortcut" warning?

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by kohoutec, Jan 27, 2002.

  1. kohoutec

    kohoutec Guest

    Does anyone know a reg tweak or whatever to get rid of the incredibly annoying warning u get when u delete a shortcut, you know, the one that tells u that ur not actually uninstalling the app, just deleteing its shortcut (Wow really Bill?)

    thanks
     
  2. gaskill

    gaskill Guest

    Hmm, I'm not really sure. As far as the warning goes, I know far too many people who would think that by deleting the icon on their desktop they would be deleting the program. They probably put it in after realizing how many people don't know what they're doing. This is probably wrong, but you could turn off the delete confirmation dialog in general and see if that gets rid of the dialog for deleting the program shortcut.

    Right click the recycle bin, properties. Uncheck "Display delete confirmation dialog"

    Good luck.
     
  3. kohoutec

    kohoutec Guest

    Good idea, never even thought of trying that, thanks ill give it a whirl