Kernel Panics in 10.4

Discussion in 'Macintosh' started by SPeedY_B, May 6, 2005.

1. SPeedY_B

SPeedY_B I may actually be insane.

Fecking thing. Just had my third Kernel panic in 48 hours. The first two came overnight whilst the machine was unattended, however the third has just hit me whilst in the middle of a game of Doom3 (the cheek of it!)

That, along with hardware info, is what was sent off to Apple in the error report, however, it means feck-all to me, can anyone else give a heads up as to what it means, if anything?

Oh, just found panic.log, may be more useful:

2. muzikool

muzikool Act your wage. Political User

You may have said it before, but did you upgrade, archive or clean install?

Sorry, I think I've only experienced one kernel panic total, so I'm not really experienced with them.

I've seen people post about kernel panics caused by non-Apple RAM. They determined this by taking the RAM out and not being able to reproduce the problems afterwards. I hope this isn't normal since I just ordered some Kingston RAM for my Mac.

Last edited: May 6, 2005
  3. SPeedY_B

I've been using the ram in here (Crucial) for quite some time now without problem.

With regards to upgrading, I wiped and installed.

4. muzikool

I found this:

The fact that the modules referred to in the panic.log include an Airport module would lead me to suspect that there is something wrong with your Airport card. You might try removing it and reseating it...

5. SPeedY_B

Will give that a try if it happens again. I think that it may be the official BitTorrent client (The only kernel panics I've ever had, have been caused by bloody torrent clients :p) however should I need to power down/reboot again, I'll move the card to a different PCI slot.

6. X-Istence

X-Istence * Political User

Looks to be an Airport problem, if the problem persists, try fixing permissions, and or errors using Disk Utility. If that still does not work, reseat the airport card.

7. muzikool