Intranet Mail Server

B

barch97

I've been using microsoft mail for about 6 years in my small office. As far as I can tell, Microsoft no longer supports microsoft mail. I kinda saw this coming when microsoft mail postoffice was not included in windows 98. No problem, I just kept an old computer loaded with windows 95 to administer microsoft mail accounts. Well, that wasn't good enough for microsoft. They have now stopped providing microsoft mail access via microsoft outlook. The last version of microsoft outlook that really supported microsoft mail was 6 but, I was able to get microsoft outlook 2000 to access my microsoft mail postoffice.

It seems that microsoft outlook 2002 will not allow this at all or at least they make it VERY difficult. I have had to uninstall microsoft outlook 2002. Install microsoft outlook 2000. Setup for microsoft mail. Then install microsoft outlook 2002. This has allowed me to use microsoft mail with microsoft outlook 2002. I am not happy about this.

There has got to be an easier way. It seems that microsoft would prefer that I use microsoft exchange server instead of microsoft mail postoffice. The trouble is, I can't seem to find my free copy of microsoft exchange server that replaces my free microsoft mail postoffice. Nor can I find instructions/directions/system requirements regarding the installation & setup of microsoft exchange server.

I've got about a dozen stations in the office. There's about nine people working here. We VERY often need to transfer email, documents, files, etc. between people and stations. Microsoft mail did this job fantastically. I'd like to avoid having everyone begin transferring the before mentioned items via our pop/smtp email system because there are obvious speed and volume issues.

Maybe I don't need exchange server. Maybe there's a better way. Please post any help, suggestions, instruction, questions, etc. that might help me even just a little bit.

Thanks in advance.