I'm a Noob and want to format and install - Help!

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by albacorebob, May 31, 2004.

1. albacorebob

albacorebob OSNN One Post Wonder

:confused: I've searched and read many of the threads but still want to pose my issue.

I have a Compaq running XP Home with the factory install. Over the 3 1/2 years I've used it - I've played with shareware, freeware, added/removed, cleaned up/defragged yada yada yada....

I have a 1.33 AMD XP with 512 DDR SDRAM and 2 40 gb hard dives. My graphics card is an Nvidia GeForce2 MX. My machine is not running and booting like it used to and I'm considering formatting the C:\ and doing an install from the Compaq recovery disks, hoping to leave a lot of the bloat out.

I use the 2nd hard drive for storage of docs, pics and music; as well as to hold the "My Documents" folders for my family's accounts. I will have to copy the IE favs and move them to the 2nd drive as well. E-mail is also stored on drive #2.

I plan on just using the recovery disks included from Compaq to install the system. Should I look into partitioning the C:\ to help make this easier in the future?

Any pitfalls to look out for? I've never wiped out a system before and worry about getting back set up.

Any hints or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. :confused:

2. Lee

Lee OSNN Proxy

what is a ''noob''?

3. tdinc

tdinc █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User

without have to post a lengthy help goto black vipers help page
    it shoul help you with all your questions and needs...

black viper

4. tdinc

tdinc █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User

A person online who is new and/or unfamiliar with the environment :rolleyes:

5. Glaanieboy

Glaanieboy Moderator

He already knows, why bother explaining :rolleyes:

6. Lee

Lee OSNN Proxy

If I already knew I would not have asked what is.

7. Glaanieboy

Glaanieboy Moderator

You sir, are a noob :lol:

never mind. I need sleep -_-

8. Lee

Lee OSNN Proxy

Newby I aint. Knob yes I agree with yah :)