I need help to reinstall a file

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by loverboy27, Oct 4, 2007.

  1. loverboy27

    loverboy27 OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    3
    --- edit: post run through fitzTrans translation software ---

    Uh, hi there folks. I am new to this site. I have a question regarding a problem with my PC.

    On Sept. 21st I had signed up for dial-up Internet Access with Earthlink.

    Everything was working fine until just before I installed Yahoo Messenger. I started getting warning messages about some failure or corrupting on my system. As I restarted my system, the PC seemed to hang on bootup and would not load my desktop. It only got to the point where it displays the Windows 2000 logo before it hung. On the next reboot after that, I got an error message that said a file was missing or corrupt

    So is there any way that anyone could tell me what I need to do to reinstall a copy of the file so my system can get back to running?

    I just signed up for Internet access and I don't want to have to cancel it. It sucks that I have a problem so soon after I finally get access. I was so sad when my system wouldnt go on and start all the way up like it should.

    Someone else I know suggested that I try to see if my PC will start successfully in safe mode.

    I hope I can get this fixed because I am tired of going to library to use the Internet because they only allow you to stay on the computers there for 1 hour at a time. I hate that.. so can someone help me get this fixed?

    Thanks, I'll be waiting. :)

    ----------------


    original message for comparison:

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 8, 2007
  2. fitz

    fitz Just Floating Along Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    4,076
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    phew.. a little better use of proper capitalization and paragraph breaks might go a long way to making your post more readable..

    That being said, it might help to start out with what error you're getting (as in, what file does it say is missing or corrupt)

    edit:
    ok.. translated the post as best as I could using my patented fitzTrans software.
    So, have you tried starting the PC in safe mode?

    oh, and welcome to the forum :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2007
  3. gonaads

    gonaads Beware the G-Man Political User Folding Team

    Hmmmm, I can read it both ways. :s

    Hey fitz, you do know how to use a period to end a sentence don't you? I'll let you find that one. And when you use "I" as in, "tell me what i need to do to", maybe capitalization is in order? Also :eek: this section, "It sucks that I had a problem so soon after", "had" is past tense. He still does have the problem does he not? Maybe you should check your translation software, I think it's buggy. Just a thought. :p
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2007
  4. fitz

    fitz Just Floating Along Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    4,076
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    lol.. hey, it's beta software :)
     
  5. loverboy27

    loverboy27 OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    3
    hey who are ya, it seen like ya are making fun of what i posted on here. well i heen told that the file that is missing. I need a recovery cd to restore it. but i dont have it, this pc was given to me. well i just find out that this pc had more than one operating system on it. i installed windows xp on it, not i am doing good. i am on it now as i send ya this message, so what i am gonna do is let windows xp pro get installed on it oo so just in case this operating sysyem goes bad on me, boom i'll have another already installed. the other one that i find out it had on here is windows 98. the one that i am having problems with is windows 200 professional that the file is missing on. I am gonna get windows xp home edition and professional. I done had enough of the old versions. I dont like them anymore. and I am gonna later on get windows vista the new version.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2007
  6. American Zombie

    American Zombie Moderator Staff Member Political User

    Messages:
    2,933
    Location:
    Seattle
    Would be helpful to know what file is missing.
     
  7. LordOfLA

    LordOfLA Godlike!

    Messages:
    7,027
    Location:
    Maidenhead, Berkshire, UK
    I will close and/or delete this thread if you don't learn to format posts so people can read what you are typing.

    It's simple really. Use your enter key.

    It leaves these gaps you see in posts between paragraphs.

    Makes it really easy to read and help you.

    Please use it.

    Thanks.
     
  8. gonaads

    gonaads Beware the G-Man Political User Folding Team

    loverboy27, listen, explain the error message (if any). Also please tell us what this file is (It's name in full). It seems (But I could be wrong) that your primary language is not English. Please do not feel insulted, this is not my intent. But take your time in typing out your post. Tell us about your computer, it's components and operating system(s) that is/are installed on it. Tell us on which Operating System this error is occurring on. Now do you need to have more than one Operating System on the Computer? Also have you asked/talked to the person that gave you this Computer? They might be able to help you if they are knowledgeable with computers and if they built this Computer that was given to you. Take your time think it out then post it.
     
  9. LordOfLA

    LordOfLA Godlike!

    Messages:
    7,027
    Location:
    Maidenhead, Berkshire, UK
    Same goes for gonaads :p
     
  10. fitz

    fitz Just Floating Along Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    4,076
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Me? I'm no one.. just a friendly moderator here trying to help.

    I'm not making fun of you. I was trying to help you get an answer since most people would not be able to make sense of your original post.

    I'm confused on a couple things:
    How do you just find this out now? It should be rather obvious if you have different versions of windows installed.

    I'm assuming you mean "now I am doing good" as opposed to "not I am doing good"

    Sending on what? The windows 2000 side that didn't load? Or the other OS that you didn't know was there? Or the copy of XP that you installed?

    Wait.. I thought you said you already installed XP on it? What OS might go bad? The copy of XP you just installed? So you want to install another copy of XP in case your current load of XP goes bad?!?

    Again, I thought you already said you installed XP?!?
    And if I understand you right, you want to install both home edition and professional editon? I would highly recommend against that.

    Bottom line, it seems like your system is this messed up already with multiple operating systems installed, I'm guessing you don't have them on seperate partitions and probably have multiple versions of windows installed into the same windows directory (c:\windows) which is probably why you are having problems with corrupt installs and system files missing.

    And if you are going to go to Vista, why are you messing with XP now?

    My advice.. format and reload from scratch with the one operating system you choose. And leave it at one operating system only.

    If you must feel the need to dual-boot between multiple operating systems, I would advise you to repartition your drive (or buy a second hard drive) to keep them seperate.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2007
  11. gonaads

    gonaads Beware the G-Man Political User Folding Team

    Hey mine is one paragraph since it's all the same subject. If I break it up it'll just look dumb. ;)
     
  12. loverboy27

    loverboy27 OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    3
    naw what I mean is this, the Pc already had windows 98 and 2000 on it when someone gave it to me. windows 2000 is the one that dont wanna start up, cause of file missing or corrupt. the name of the file missing or corrrupt is system 32, yep. i heard thats a major file that is migging, oh yep. well thank ya so much for ya advice there bud. i might do try to have it formatted and start from scratch like ya are saying. today I am taking it to a friend of mine thats gonna do about 10 things to it for me.

    what operating system ya have on yours.

    about windows vista I am gonna just get the trial version of it burn onto a Cd, and when my system fail to load up again later on in the future, I am gonna give vista a try and see how it works out, yep. so i should let it get repartition, i think i might just do that by the way, yep.

    I only have 128MB RAM, I gotta get a lot more on it. I am thinking about getting 1024 MB RAM I saw online on a website, only 54.99 from a computer company called tigerdirect, yep. when i get that, i know my system will run much faster, oh yep. that file thats missing requires a recovery cd to re-install it, but i dont have any. if i get it from the manufacutrer, it is 69 dollars, no way i dont think so.

    I am not go to vista now, i am gonna wait until later on and go to it. well thank ya so much for ya time, reply back.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 8, 2007