HTML tags with Mozilla

Discussion in 'Web Design & Coding' started by Jewelzz, Apr 15, 2003.

1. Jewelzz

Jewelzz OSNN Godlike Veteran

I'm still pretty new to Mozilla, when I'm posting news on the front page I often use {li} (replace {} with <> ). I've recently noticed the bullet doesn't show with Mozilla. Does anyone know why or if there is a similar HTML code I can use that will viewable using Mozilla, IE, Opera and any other brower?

2. Jewelzz

Ok I found that here, posting news I can use the {list} tag along with {*}blah blah{/*}{/list} but I shouldn't have to, {li} should work

3. SPeedY_B

SPeedY_B I may actually be insane.

true, <li> should work.
    I dont know how the news posting is handled, but the bullets probably dont show up because of Mozilla running in compliancy mode (due to a header sent by the page)

4. Jewelzz

My head is spinning now, thanx SPeedY_B :p

5. SPeedY_B

What format where you trying to make a list with?
    it should be :

<ul>
    <li>Item 1</li>
    <li>Item 2</li>
    <li>Item 3</li>
    </ul>

6. Jewelzz

Just <li> not ending tag as EP said I didn't need to

7. Tabula Rasa

Tabula Rasa Stranger Than Kindness Political User

hmm, did you start and end the list with <ul> </ul> ?
    Mozilla is very picky when it comes to code.

8. Tabula Rasa

you do.

you can make a regular list using the <ul> tag, or a number list using the <ol> tag.

9. Jewelzz

I only use <li>, that's all I've ever used and the bullet is visible in IE but not Mozilla.

10. SPeedY_B

ok, basically you dont need to close the tag for a browser to render it as a list.
    BUT because NTFS.org is classed as an XHTML document, the browser will read it that way, and the XHTML specification requires that all tags are closed.

Mozilla, being a compliant browser, when told that a page is compliant, will render it in a compliant way, if the code isn't ACTUALLY compliant (ie: no </li>) then Mozilla will have a wibble :p