How To ....

M

Mark-XP

disable the windows key on my keyboard, in game play if you accidently hit it in game freezes the game and it is a problem.
I have TweakUI/XP I got from MS website but can't find a way to fix this problem.
Thanks , Mark :eek:

Always Make Backups

Welcome to NTFS
;)
Disable the Windows Key

Create a new Binary value, or modify the existing value, called "Scancode Map" and set it according to the value data below.

System Key: [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Keyboard Layout]
Value Name: Scancode Map
Data Type: REG_BINARY (Binary Value)
Value Data: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 03 00 00 00 00 00 5B E0 00 00 5C E0 00 00 00 00

& reboot

:cool:

:( thanks but I'm new to XP and don't want to mess up the reg. after finally getting it to work .
Got a new m/b cpu and had a power supply blow (to small) and killed my 60 gig drive and all 40 gigs of data on it so I afraid to mess the system up since it's running now.
I'll have to figure out something else to fix it, a friend said get a pair of pliers and rip it out .... :rolleyes:
not quit that bad yet.
Thanks for the quick reply........
Mark

Mark - while you are right to be cautious about editing the registry (especially if it's the first time), you need not be fearful ;)

Just create a restore point or back up the registry manually (export) before making the change, and then go ahead and follow TwoZ's advice. If you take your time and do it carefully, you won't hurt anything. And the backup (or restore point) is your safety net.

WoooHooo!!!!!!!!
It worked :D :D :D
Thanks ... you guys ROCK

There you go - you just did your first successful registry tweak. ;) Congratulations.

Almost as satisfying as breaking 90 for the first time! ;)

Just what I was looking for. I keep hitting the damn winkey all the time. Total pain in the butt. :D

Alot of games have it disabled, or an option to do so, but yeah, definatly feel the pain.