how to flash bios and highpoint

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by stapler101, Jan 27, 2002.

  1. stapler101

    stapler101 Guest

    i think I found the cause of much of my grief. I have mismatched the highpoint raid driver bios and driver.
    I have an Abit Kt7a- raid board.
    I need advice/help on getting the mb bios and the highpoint raid controller flashed.
    Can someone:
    1. suggest the best bios WITH the best highpoint driver imbedded
    2. put it in plain english how to do it!
    I have read and read on several sites, but I guess it is over my head.
    I do "understand" that the mb bios and the highpoint bios must be flashed together, but I can't decide which to use and exactly how to do it.
     
  2. Lonman

    Lonman Bleh!

    Messages:
    2,642
    Go to http://www.biosmods.com/

    In the menu options on the left under 'BIOS Menu' you want to select from the 'Abit KT7' series. The ones from 'kt764' to 'kt764 + hpt23' are mods that use the newest (64) Award bios in conjunction with different highpoint bioses.

    1. You'll have to experiment with different hpt bios/driver combinations to get your best performance. So far the best combination i've been able to come up with for myself is with the HPT370 2.0.0919 bios (KT764 + hpt20a), and the v2.0.1019 highpoint driver.

    2. To flash the bios, download the Abit bios flash utility package. Download a modified bios *.bin file. Edit the "Runme.bat" file to call the modified *.bin file. For example, If you downloaded a modified bios called 'tbird.bin,' then edit the 'runme.bat' file to read:

    @echo off
    cls
    ECHO !-------------------------------------------------!
    ECHO ! !
    ECHO !Please DO NOT run this batch file under Windows! !
    ECHO ! !
    ECHO !-------------------------------------------------!
    pause
    call abitfae.bat tbird.bin

    When you've done that, copy the pertinent files to your flashing diskette, boot to it and flash your bios following Abit's flashing instructions.
     
  3. stapler101

    stapler101 Guest

    Thanks Lonman, did you read in Pauls unofficial that upgrading or downgrading the highpoint may cause corrupt files on a drive attatched to the raid?
    That is exactly why I am reinstalling for about the 10th time!! The error, at bootup, system32/software file is missing, corrupt, etc.
    Have you had this prob?
    Also, how do I check which highpoint bios I have?
     
  4. Lonman

    Lonman Bleh!

    Messages:
    2,642
    I only have one drive on my Raid controller and haven't had a problem with disk corruption at all.

    When you boot up, you'll get to the highpoint bios screen where it's detecting your drive(s) and the version number is in the upper right I believe.
     
  5. stapler101

    stapler101 Guest

    Lonman, mine is 1110102 bios and 1110512 driver. I guess this is what is on the xp disk.
    I downloaded the file from the site you sent. Should it be just one file 4a200919? Is this the mb bios and the highpoint?
    I guess I'm still lost. It shows to be bin file.
    I now need a flash utility package?
    Dang, I must be dumb!!
     
  6. ZipTriX

    ZipTriX Guest

    Try this. Work for me and haven't had a problem with them.
     
  7. Lonman

    Lonman Bleh!

    Messages:
    2,642
    Download this bios package.. Make a folder somewheres and run in... it's a self extracting zip file. The file list you should have at this point:

    kt764.exe <<< you can delete this one after you extract these:
    ABITFAE.BAT
    AWDFLASH.EXE
    KT7_64.BIN
    KT7_64.TXT
    RUNME.BAT

    Delete the file 'KT7_64.BIN.' Download one of the modded bin files, right click on 'RUNME.BAT'> edit> do the edit i already outlined and save it. Copy all the files to your flashing diskette (If you need help creating the diskette and/or flashing instructions let me know).

    You can get the matching drivers to the bios you selected either from www.biosmods.com, or from http://www.highpoint-tech.com/hpt370.htm.
     
  8. Lonman

    Lonman Bleh!

    Messages:
    2,642
    Here's a package for the v23 (newest available) bios and drivers. Copy the contents from the 'bios' folder onto your flashing diskette... boot to it and type 'runme' at the command prompt... A:\>runme

    Go to device manager, right click on your hpt controller and select 'update.' point it to the folder 'drivers\Win_XP.'
     
  9. ZipTriX

    ZipTriX Guest

    lonman are you using the latest? I used them and my system performance was terrible. i'm using the package i posted and get excellent performance.
     
  10. Lonman

    Lonman Bleh!

    Messages:
    2,642
    I haven't tried the newest ones yet... The ones that i struck on for the best performance (measuered by HD Tach) is the 0919 bios (KT764 + hpt20a), and the 1019 highpoint driver. I'm doing ok with that combo so I think I'll leave it alone for now. I'm 'hoping' Abit gets their act together and finds a killer setup that will unleash these drives... I can always hope.
     
  11. ZipTriX

    ZipTriX Guest

    my new motherboard is an asus with promise raid controllers. (not installed yet) is it the same way as abit? do i have to get matching bios and drivers?


    The new bios/driver matchup I don't like. I'm using 2.3 drivers and 12.03 bios.
     
  12. Lonman

    Lonman Bleh!

    Messages:
    2,642
    I'm not sure about the promise controllers... I'll have to wait until you have problems with it and post your questions before I research it. :p
     
  13. ZipTriX

    ZipTriX Guest

    well damn i was hoping to flash the bios, with a matching promise bios. then install the most recent drivers for Promise when i install XP.
     
  14. Lonman

    Lonman Bleh!

    Messages:
    2,642
    I suggest not doing anything except checking the m/b's site for bios updates, and only to see if the updates fix anything XP related. If something ain't broke... don't fix it.
     
  15. stapler101

    stapler101 Guest

    Lonman, thanks very much! The file I downloaded is called 4a200919. I saw somewhere that if name was over 8 characters long you may need to rename. Is that necessary?

    Will my "call" read: call abitfae.bat 4a200919.bat

    I think I basically understand now, but once all files are on a disk, I use boot disk to get to pure dos, what command will cause the flash?
    BTW, by accident I had the 2.3 driver installed (not the bios) and I know it caused system restore to stop. I read that turning sys restore off and rebooting would cure, but it didn't.
    The package with the 2.3 seems to be "automatic" as far as setup. Is that correct? That part sure seems nice to someone like myself who is intimidated by the thought of """flash"""
    One more thing, on the highpoint page I do not see a bios or driver 200919. Which driver is right?
     
  16. Lonman

    Lonman Bleh!

    Messages:
    2,642
    1. Did you get this from www.biosmods.com?
    2. Almost... call abitfae.bat 4a200919.bin<<< probably a typo on your part.
    3. Yes, use a dos boot disk. the command will be 'runme' or 'runme.bat' from the command prompt (A:\>).
    4. Are you referring to the 'v23 bios and drivers.zip' file I attached in an earlier post? If yes, then just copy the files from the bios folder to your dos boot disk and execute the 'runme' command. I've already edited the runme.bat file for you and downloaded the newest bin file (AMDTB.BIN) - those are the only files you'll need.
    5. If you already have the 2.3 drivers installed, then you don't need to update them.

    We'll have to deal with the system restore issue later - it might have to do with something else you've installed recently.

    Final question, have you been to the Abit website to read the bios flash instructions all the way through? It's important you have a clear understanding of the procedure. You can kill your motherboard if something goes wrong. Not to frighten you, just respect the process and you'll be fine.
     
  17. ZipTriX

    ZipTriX Guest

    Look in your ABIT manual for assistance flashing the Bios. You can also try the package I uploaded. There's a readme file in the zip file that tells you want to do.
     
  18. stapler101

    stapler101 Guest

    I flashed my bios from ?? to the new #65 about 2 months ago with no problem. The highpoint embedding is what has me thrown.
    As for the 2.3 highpoint, I had the 2.3 driver installed yesterday with the older 1110402 bios.
    I was getting corrupt system 32 software errors and could not boot. On Pauls unofficial abit page he mentions this problem. The only thing I could figure out to do was reinstall.
    I now have mb bios #65 with old highpoint 111402 bios and the matching (according to their site) 1115012 driver.
    I guess these came from the xp disk when I reinstalled yesterday.

    One FINAL (ha) question. Yesterday and today, I have had no crashes or boot failures!! I have only installed my cd, burner, and xp updates. No other hardware or software.
    I have not updated the 4in1 nor the highpoint. They are off the xp disk.
    Should I go ahead with the flash?
     
  19. ZipTriX

    ZipTriX Guest

    Flashing the bios doesn't affect your drivers.
     
  20. stapler101

    stapler101 Guest

    Ziptrix, I guess my ? was, since everything seems to be working using the xp built in highpoint and 4 in 1, should I flash to get the "new and improved" highpoint and should I install the new 4
    .37 4in1?