How do i.........

Discussion in 'Web Design & Coding' started by DarkMaster, Jun 10, 2003.

1. DarkMaster

DarkMaster OSNN Addict

how do i go about making an internet webpage. sounds simple, but im quite new to this. i would like to know wot tools i would need, wot skills i require, and wot the hell does php, perl, ssi, and cgi mean.
    oh, and can anyone recommend a host for the site, and im not gonna sink major $$$ into the creation of a site.
    i hav microsoft frontpage2000 (i think) and dreamweaver 4? any good?
    i want to create a site, coz i want to learn something new and i feel stupid coz its like everyone has a site nowadays (well just about)
    http://www.4host-you.com/
    is that host any good?

2. 03bigMark03

03bigMark03 Guest

Just mess around with them software packages (though I recomend DW4) and get a feel for everything. Most of them are WYSIWYG applications so things shouldn't be to hard. If you can work Word, you can work anything. Though I bet the techies here are going to say use notepad! LOL

3. DarkMaster

DarkMaster OSNN Addict

can you recommend another program that i can use other than frontpage or dreamweaver, i hav messed around with them (kinda) and i got a basic layout and added some images, but wot then?

4. sboulema

sboulema Moderator

i use cutehtml and cuteftp and the space my is provided...

5. j79zlr

j79zlr Glaanies script monkey Political User

I dont consider myself a HTML techie by any means, but using notepad gives a better understanding of whats going on. There are plenty of tutorials on the web on how to do pretty everything with HTML. Besides Frontpage, Dreamweaver throw tons of useless code in there. If you start with notepad it wont be hard, and if you wanna learn, you might as well learn correctly.

6. 03bigMark03

03bigMark03 Guest

Good opionion j79zlr. But I like the colour coding of PHP code in DWMX.

7. Petros

Petros Thief IV