Hopefully not of topic but help with dual booting

B

bill_gates_mom

Hopefully this isnt to off topic but I couldnt think of another board to put this under. Here is my problem I had windows 98 I installed XP, I was dual booting fine for a while then somehow my windows 98 startup files got erased or something, I fixed it with the windows 98 boot disk (by copying the system files again) and it worked but now I cant get into windows XP, so I could at least get the startup menu to give me a choice in an OS. I hope this made sense. Bottom line I cant get into XP, the menu where you get to choose an OS disappeared and I think I can get it back but I need to get into XP first. Im new at XP so I dont know how I would do this. Both OS's are on seprate volumes and such but now it just goes straight into windwos 98. How do I get back into XP? How do I get the OS choice screen during boot up again? Thanks for any help.

heh

1st of all get rid of win98.. why use both of em when one OS is more than enough???

You should get the OS selection menu by pressing F8 during bootup.. ! My suggestion is that u make a full new clean install of Windows XP---

LightWave

Right so you've lost access to your boot menu, where you would normally choose 98 or XP right?

OK, on your next bootup, go into your BIOS and set the boot device to your CD-ROM drive..wait...follow me, it will work!..

Put your XP CD into the drive and reboot.

The XP Installation process should start and you will have the option to REPAIR or REINSTALL XP, choose Repair, and the missing boot files will be restored.

Yeah it looks like I might have to do that, although heres what I did so far: