Haunted by BSOD

Discussion in 'Windows Server Systems' started by slax, Feb 18, 2006.

  1. slax

    slax OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    5
    Firstly let me point down everything about my PC

    P4 3GHz
    1 GB RAM [2x512MB] [i upgraded 1GB from 512MB on Jan 5th]
    Intel D865GBF Mother Board
    240GB [160 GB SATA + 80 GB Barracuda]

    Operating systems:
    Windows XP SP2
    WIndows Server 2003 SP1
    Windows 98 SE
    Slackware Linux 10.2

    About the Error

    Operating System: Windows Server 2003
    BSOD Error: Stop Error 0x0000008E
    Other Symptoms: while working with Visual studio 2005, system just doesnt respond, even the task manager doesnt show up

    i use my windows server 2003 only for work / programming / practicing, i installed visual studio 2005 few weeks back, but didnt have time to work with it, few days back i started working with it and i face the Blue Screen of Death very frequently. they occur when i perform simple operations like saving the file, opening volume control, etc... im very much confused with this state due to many reasons.


    firstly, if the error is supposed to cause becos of RAM, then it should also cause in my Windows XP, but Win XP works like a charm cos it has hell lot of applications, games, etc installed on the other side windows server 2003 has visual studio 2005, sql server 2005 [installed by default with Visual studio 2005], and basic programming tools...

    secondly, i think if the installation of windows server 2003 is corrupt, but then it has been installed for a while and i had been working with it, there was no such problem. also there have been limited number of applications installed in it

    finally, one of my friend told me that Visual studio 2005 takes up more virtual space, and 786 MB is very less which was alloted by default. so i increased virtual memory to 4.2GB, still the problem remains...

    im confused and haunted .. plz help
     

    Attached Files:

    • bsod.jpg
      bsod.jpg
      File size:
      102 KB
      Views:
      2,320
  2. kcnychief

    kcnychief █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    16,948
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    First off, kudos on running such a sweet rig and doing a decent amount of troubleshooting yourself :D

    I would have to agree that it is RAM related, but since it works in XP it's probably not on the hardware side. I believe you are down the right path with adjusting the virtual memory, but 4.2GB with only 1.0GB physical RAM is way too high. Was there a reason you chose that value?

    I would try setting the RAM to "System Managed Size". Have you noticed any consistency of the BSOD when you are performing certain tasks? You could also download a real-time memory manager to watch for potential leaks.
     
  3. slax

    slax OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    5
    well having some knowledge i have to atleast try my best before asking/posting about the problem...

    i chose 4.2GB randomly also with some frustration... 1.5GB is on C drive and rest is on other NTFS drive..


    i dont see consistency of the error... i gave it a try.. left the PC on for nearly 14 hours to see if the error occurs when system is idle... but there was no error, it is basically generating when i start using applications.. everything revolves on visual studio 2005 and sql server 2005.. since both are running when the error occurs.. also it happened once sql server was not running....

    can u suggest me the memory manager... since there are not many applications which run on windows 2003 server....
     
  4. Lonman

    Lonman Bleh!

    Messages:
    2,642
  5. slax

    slax OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    5
    well if it was RAM then why is windows XP running so smoothly.... btw the link which u gave me.. i had been through it... in fact i was on google for nearly 4 days before im posting here.. also the microsoft link the situation is windows xp setup... when the setup faces the errors...

    someone mentioned to run memtest on the RAM on other forum... will try that and check it out
     
  6. kcnychief

    kcnychief █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    16,948
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    If you are going to run a memory tester, be sure to run memtest+ as the other version hasn't been updated in awhile:

    http://www.memtest.org/

    As for a RAM monitor, try this:

    http://www.jfitz.com/software/RAMpage/

    The more you speak of it, I would say it is very likely a software-side config error. But running the physical hardware test couldn't hurt...
     
  7. slax

    slax OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    5
    will give a try.. and let u know soon.. if anyone sees any other solution plz reply to the thread
     
  8. ElementalDragon

    ElementalDragon The One and Only

    Messages:
    3,159
    Location:
    Lehighton, PA
    well.. .here's what i found for that STOP error code on this website..... not sure if it's the same for EVERY OS, or which OS these are created from (though i'm assuming all of MS's Stop codes are the same.

    as for the website itself: http://www.aumha.org/win5/kbestop.php
     
  9. slax

    slax OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    5
    ^thx for the information ElementalDragon... i had been on google for 4 days before i posted this.. as far as hardware compatibility issue goes.. i had been installing win 2003 from the day it was released... with the same PC... so i dint see much difference... also i was using visual studio 2003 for a long time on it... and about drivers.. i think i have updated most of them... also i updated the firmware of my BIOS