Hard Drive Life

J

jcs83md

I've been running 2 drives for many years, both ATA-33, one is an 8 gig IBM from '95 and a 16 gig Western Digital from about '97. My question is, are these drives in danger of failing sometime soon?? If I had to guess I'd say the 8 gig has about 20,000-25,000 hours on it, perhaps more. I don't get any errors, the age of the drives are my main concern. Obviously, they are obsolete.. however I guess I am one to upgrade once something fails...

Sometimes you get lucky with certain appliances. I got a blender that is 35 years old and still runs like a charm! On the downside, my Maytag bowed-out after 10 months.

hhhhmmmm..... well, my older comp, and IBM, i bought from futureshop, and the HD died out b4 the 1 year warranty was up, same with my cousin's compaq HD, both HDs were replaced with the 1 year warranty.

THe way I see things, is nowadays they don't build things to last, they build them to last until you want to upgrade. and even seomtimes that fails. They are building new cars the same way, once they hit 5 ys, everything on them starts falling apart. It's the same with computer parts, only it's a year.

I think it's a sad state of affairs when anything will die after a year of use....

Quantum Fireball 15GB here , works great , pretty noisy . Life of the HDD depends also by it's temperature !

jcs - I believe snook gave you the right answer.....who knows? I've seen drives last 10 or more years (truly) and some die in 3 months. Just practice safe computing - you know, back up regularly and be prepared - and hope you get another 25,000 hours. It could happen.

As for that silly statement about WD's - well, that's all it is, a silly statement. I'm not looking for a fight here - just don't want any readers of this post who are relative novices to put any credence in that post.