getting really annoyed grrrrrrr!

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by WarranT, Aug 15, 2002.

  1. WarranT

    WarranT Guest

    im getting really annoyed lol....i dont wanna format because i dont really wanna reinstall everything........

    and this is what my problem is.....

    when i try to check my email on hotmail this is what i get:

    The page cannot be displayed
    The page you are looking for is currently unavailable. The Web site might be experiencing technical difficulties, or you may need to adjust your browser settings.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Please try the following:

    Click the Refresh button, or try again later.

    If you typed the page address in the Address bar, make sure that it is spelled correctly.

    To check your connection settings, click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options. On the Connections tab, click Settings. The settings should match those provided by your local area network (LAN) administrator or Internet service provider (ISP).
    If your Network Administrator has enabled it, Microsoft Windows can examine your network and automatically discover network connection settings.
    If you would like Windows to try and discover them,
    click Detect Network Settings
    Some sites require 128-bit connection security. Click the Help menu and then click About Internet Explorer to determine what strength security you have installed.
    If you are trying to reach a secure site, make sure your Security settings can support it. Click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options. On the Advanced tab, scroll to the Security section and check settings for SSL 2.0, SSL 3.0, TLS 1.0, PCT 1.0.
    Click the Back button to try another link.



    Cannot find server or DNS Error
    Internet Explorer



    thats what i get.........and when i go into tools . internet options and click on the advanced tab and go to the security setting i dont have TLS 1.0 and PCT 1.0


    ive tried everything practicly......



    so if anyone knows anything could they please help me.......

    i did tech support with hotmail but they could not help either....they forwared my problem to microsoft but i have not got a respone from them yet.....and its been around 2 weeks now


    thx

    WarranT
     
  2. Friend of Bill

    Friend of Bill What, me worry?

    Messages:
    1,572
    Go to Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Services - and make sure DNS Client is in the "Started" mode.
     
  3. WarranT

    WarranT Guest

    i can onl select:

    manual

    automatic

    or disabled

    its on disabled

    what should i put it to?

    and after i do it..should i restart?
     
  4. Friend of Bill

    Friend of Bill What, me worry?

    Messages:
    1,572
    Select Automatic then apply then start
     
  5. damnyank

    damnyank I WILL NOT FORGET 911

    Messages:
    2,359
    Location:
    Petal, Mississippi
    I think you are looking in the wrong column - but if ya looking where I think ya are - it needs to be in auto.

    Ya better wait for SnookBooger's reply though!

    [edited] ya beat me SnookBooger:D [edited]
     
  6. WarranT

    WarranT Guest

    i did that and it still dont work.......


    should i restart?
     
  7. WarranT

    WarranT Guest

    just restarted.......

    still dont work
     
  8. Friend of Bill

    Friend of Bill What, me worry?

    Messages:
    1,572
    In Services right click DNS Client and press Start. If that doesn't work I don't know what is up. There should be no need to reboot Windows though.
     
  9. WarranT

    WarranT Guest

    hmmm still dont work grrrrrrr :-(

    does anything else in services need to be on?


    cause i disabled quite a few things from their....since i dont use em

    http://www.blackviper.com/WinXP/servicecfg.htm , thats where it showed me what i need and dont need
     
  10. damnyank

    damnyank I WILL NOT FORGET 911

    Messages:
    2,359
    Location:
    Petal, Mississippi
    Don't know if it is too late or not - but did you try a system restore to a point "before" ya disabled any services???

    I mean at this point I don't think it could hurt.

    Also blackviper's info is normally right on the money - did ya get one (a setting) wrong by chance??

    Just trying to give ya more to look at.

    Anything else ya might have changed that ya didn't mention before???
     
  11. WarranT

    WarranT Guest

    naaa i dont like system restore so i disabled it.......
     
  12. damnyank

    damnyank I WILL NOT FORGET 911

    Messages:
    2,359
    Location:
    Petal, Mississippi
  13. WarranT

    WarranT Guest

    i did a tracert and i got soo many time outs

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>tracert www.hotmail.com

    Tracing route to www.hotmail.com [64.4.53.7]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 14 ms 15 ms 15 ms HSE-Montreal-ppp132136.qc.sympatico.ca [64.231.2
    35.1]
    2 14 ms 15 ms 14 ms 64.230.245.65
    3 14 ms 15 ms 15 ms 206.108.107.213
    4 71 ms 70 ms 71 ms 206.108.101.182
    5 76 ms 77 ms 77 ms 206.108.102.209
    6 76 ms 75 ms 76 ms 206.108.102.202
    7 75 ms 76 ms 77 ms 206.108.108.142
    8 75 ms 76 ms 75 ms pos0-0.core1.sea1.us.msn.net [207.46.33.13]
    9 * * * Request timed out.
    10 * * * Request timed out.
    11 * * * Request timed out.
    12 * * * Request timed out.
    13 * * * Request timed out.
    14 * * * Request timed out.
    15 * * * Request timed out.
    16 * * * Request timed out.
    17 * * * Request timed out.
    18 * * * Request timed out.
    19 * * * Request timed out.
    20 * * * Request timed out.
    21 * * * Request timed out.
    22 * * * Request timed out.
    23 * * * Request timed out.
    24 * * * Request timed out.
    25 * * * Request timed out.
    26 * * * Request timed out.
    27 * * * Request timed out.
    28 * * * Request timed out.
    29 * * * Request timed out.
    30 * * * Request timed out.

    Trace complete.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>




    thats what i got
     
  14. Friend of Bill

    Friend of Bill What, me worry?

    Messages:
    1,572
    You think that's bad, look how my line has been degrading for the past three days. The problem lies with RoadRunner. They are aware of the problem but haven't fixed it yet. Anything over 80ms for cable connection is unacceptable.

    Tracing route to pcpitstop.com [64.29.193.182]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 7 ms 5 ms 5 ms 10.100.32.1
    2 726 ms 706 ms 631 ms 653210hfc62.tampabay.rr.com [65.32.10.62]
    3 645 ms 661 ms 549 ms gsrd-srp00.tampabay.rr.com [65.32.8.228]
    4 699 ms 734 ms 673 ms pop2-tby-P0-1.atdn.net [66.185.136.185]
    5 715 ms 637 ms 732 ms bb1-tby-P0-1.atdn.net [66.185.136.177]
    6 643 ms 685 ms 664 ms bb2-atm-P7-0.atdn.net [66.185.153.94]
    7 587 ms 581 ms 416 ms pop2-atm-P1-0.atdn.net [66.185.147.214]
    8 700 ms 731 ms 654 ms level3.atdn.net [66.185.138.34]
    9 668 ms 715 ms 666 ms pos8-0.hsipaccess2.Atlanta1.Level3.net [209.244
    15.121]
    10 415 ms 631 ms 742 ms ge-6-0-1.mp1.Atlanta1.level3.net [64.159.1.253]

    11 789 ms 795 ms 761 ms so-3-0-0.mp2.Dallas1.Level3.net [64.159.1.110]
    12 830 ms 812 ms 775 ms pos9-0.core2.Dallas1.Level3.net [209.247.10.110

    13 728 ms 673 ms 738 ms gige11-1.ipcolo1.Dallas1.Level3.net [209.244.15
    82]
    14 812 ms 781 ms 717 ms unknown.Level3.net [209.246.152.194]
    15 808 ms 761 ms 671 ms port-64-1949926-zzt0prespect.devices.datareturn
    net [64.29.192.230]
    16 819 ms 792 ms 758 ms port-64-1949937-zzt0prespect.devices.datareturn
    net [64.29.192.241]
    17 853 ms 802 ms 737 ms port-64-1950134-zzt0prespect.devices.datareturn
    net [64.29.193.182]

    Trace complete.:mad:
     
  15. wizard

    wizard Guest

    WarranT aint the only one having this issue.
    Recently I have had the same thing happen. So far it affects only certain sites.

    Thought it was the router. It is not currently on the router (Thanks to an electrical problem in my apt.) I am on a straight through hook up. No change.
    I have tried every trick I can find. Even to reinstalling IE 6.
    No change. Taking classes on Networking and the instructor said he never heard of this.

    I have also played with security settings (Both IE and Zone Alarms) also shut down Zone Alarm. No dice.

    Emptied Temporary internet files/ and cookies. I am out of Ideas.
    If any one can come up with a solution. It is appreciated