File and Print sharing over a home network...

vivid_vibe

OSNN Senior Addict
Hello all,

I am new to the world of networking and have just set up my first one. It is a small home network involving only 2 computers (and the router transmits a wireless signal as well). I have the 2 computers successfully sharing an internet connection, but I want to be able to access files on one computer from the other one, and vice versa. I also want both to be able to print to the same computer. What exactly should I do to have this made possible. I ran the new network connection wizard from windows on the main computer, but it didn't seem to do anything or complete successfully. I would very much appreciate any help from you networking gurus :). Thanks alot,

vivid

1) Run the network wizard and select file and print sharing on both machines. Give them both the same workgroup name (defaults to MShome I think). Reboot both PCs and you should ne able to see them under network places.

2) Add the printer as a network printer on the "other" computer. You will need to install drivers

3) For initial checkout after doing the setup, reboot and turn off all firewalls.
You will only be able to see and share printers and folders that have been set to "shared". There is a default shared directory on each computer. Go to properties, security to open up additional folders as desired.

4) Once you know your setup is working then turn the firewalls back on and set the firewall to put the LAN addresses in the trusted zone.

It's that simple. Of course it never works out that easy... Post back with any specific problems you run into.

For security you want to set the wireless router up fro WPA security, hide its. name etc. even if you are not connecting wirelessly yet. In the mean time just remove the antenna. But that's another thread (which is around here somewhere).

not sure you HAVE to run the wizard....

Use simple file sharing
Enable Guest account
Share directories you require