doom 3 not working?

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by fantasi, Jan 23, 2005.

  1. fantasi

    fantasi My Yngy is My HoneY! Folding Team

    Messages:
    307
    Location:
    Perth
    ok ive got doom3, went to doom3.com and downloaded the patch. when i ran it it says this:

    DOOM 1.0.1282 win-x86 Sep 16 2004 16:45:51
    2210 MHz AMD CPU with MMX & 3DNow! & SSE & SSE2
    1024 MB System Memory
    256 MB Video Memory
    Winsock Initialized
    Hostname: k8n
    IP: 10.1.1.5
    doom using MMX & SSE & SSE2 for SIMD processing
    enabled Flush-To-Zero mode
    enabled Denormals-Are-Zero mode
    ------ Initializing File System ------
    Loaded pk4 C:\games\Doom 3\base\game00.pk4 with checksum 0x7dafc4d4
    Loaded pk4 C:\games\Doom 3\base\pak000.pk4 with checksum 0x28d208f1
    Loaded pk4 C:\games\Doom 3\base\pak001.pk4 with checksum 0x40244be0
    Loaded pk4 C:\games\Doom 3\base\pak002.pk4 with checksum 0xc51ecdcd
    Loaded pk4 C:\games\Doom 3\base\pak003.pk4 with checksum 0xcd79d028
    Loaded pk4 C:\games\Doom 3\base\pak004.pk4 with checksum 0x765e4f8b
    Loaded pk4 C:\games\Doom 3\base\pak005.pk4 with checksum 0x8ffc3621
    Current search path:
    C:\games\Doom 3/base
    C:\games\Doom 3\base\pak005.pk4 (63 files)
    C:\games\Doom 3\base\pak004.pk4 (5137 files)
    C:\games\Doom 3\base\pak003.pk4 (4676 files)
    C:\games\Doom 3\base\pak002.pk4 (6120 files)
    C:\games\Doom 3\base\pak001.pk4 (8972 files)
    C:\games\Doom 3\base\pak000.pk4 (2698 files)
    C:\games\Doom 3\base\game00.pk4 (2 files)
    game DLL: 0x0 in pak: 0x0
    file system initialized.
    --------------------------------------
    ----- Initializing Decls -----
    ------------------------------
    ------- Initializing renderSystem --------
    using ARB renderSystem
    renderSystem initialized.
    --------------------------------------
    5151 strings read from strings/english.lang
    Couldn't open journal files
    execing editor.cfg
    execing default.cfg
    couldn't exec DoomConfig.cfg
    couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
    5151 strings read from strings/english.lang
    ----- Initializing Sound System ------
    sound system initialized.
    --------------------------------------
    ----- R_InitOpenGL -----
    Initializing OpenGL subsystem
    ...registered window class
    ...registered fake window class
    ...initializing QGL
    ...calling LoadLibrary( 'opengl32' ): succeeded
    ...calling CDS: ok
    ...created window @ 0,0 (640x480)
    Initializing OpenGL driver
    ...getting DC: succeeded
    ...PIXELFORMAT 10 selected
    ...creating GL context: succeeded
    ...making context current: succeeded

    ------- Input Initialization -------
    Initializing DirectInput...
    mouse: DirectInput initialized.
    keyboard: DirectInput initialized.
    ------------------------------------
    sound: STEREO
    ...using GL_ARB_multitexture
    ...using GL_ARB_texture_env_combine
    ...using GL_ARB_texture_cube_map
    ...using GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3
    ...using GL_ARB_texture_env_add
    ...using GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two
    ...using GL_ARB_texture_compression
    ...using GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic
    maxTextureAnisotropy: 16.000000
    ...using GL_1.4_texture_lod_bias
    X..GL_EXT_shared_texture_palette not found
    ...using GL_EXT_texture3D
    ...using GL_EXT_stencil_wrap
    ...using GL_NV_register_combiners
    ...using GL_EXT_stencil_two_side
    X..GL_ATI_fragment_shader not found
    ...using GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object
    ...using GL_ARB_vertex_program
    ...using GL_ARB_fragment_program
    ...using EXT_depth_bounds_test
    ---------- R_NV20_Init ----------
    --------------------------------------------
    ----- R200_Init -----
    Not available.
    ---------- R_ARB2_Init ----------
    Available.
    Cg not available.
    --------------------------------------------
    ---------- R_Exp_Init ----------
    PARAM bloom0 = { 0.199501 };
    PARAM bloom1 = { 0.176059 };
    PARAM bloom2 = { 0.121004 };
    PARAM bloom3 = { 0.064769 };
    PARAM bloom4 = { 0.027000 };
    PARAM bloom5 = { 0.008765 };
    PARAM bloom6 = { 0.002216 };
    PARAM bloom7 = { 0.000436 };
    Available.
    --------------------------------------------
    ----- R_ReloadARBPrograms -----
    glprogs/test.vfp
    glprogs/test.vfp
    glprogs/interaction.vfp
    glprogs/interaction.vfp
    glprogs/bumpyEnvironment.vfp
    glprogs/bumpyEnvironment.vfp
    glprogs/ambientLight.vfp
    glprogs/ambientLight.vfp
    glprogs/shadow.vp
    glprogs/R200_interaction.vp
    glprogs/nv20_bumpAndLight.vp
    glprogs/nv20_diffuseColor.vp
    glprogs/nv20_specularColor.vp
    glprogs/nv20_diffuseAndSpecularColor.vp
    glprogs/environment.vfp
    glprogs/environment.vfp
    -------------------------------
    using ARB_vertex_buffer_object memory
    using ARB2 renderSystem
    found DLL in pak file: C:\games\Doom 3\base\game00.pk4/gamex86.dll
    copy gamex86.dll to C:\games\Doom 3\base\gamex86.dll
    ERROR: LoadLibrary 'C:\games\Doom 3\base\gamex86.dll' wants to load 'C:\games\DOOM3~1\base\gamex86.dll'
    ********************
    ERROR: couldn't load game dynamic library
    ********************
    Error during initialization
    Shutting down OpenGL subsystem
    ...wglMakeCurrent( NULL, NULL ): success
    ...deleting GL context: success
    ...releasing DC: success
    ...destroying window
    ...resetting display
    ...shutting down QGL
    ...unloading OpenGL DLL


    what is wrong? well my specs are below, and using the latest whql drivers from nvidia.
     
  2. Peter

    Peter OSNN Junior Addict

    Messages:
    12
    You have a corrupted DLL file, this may have been caused if you are using a no-cd crack.
    I attach the dll that works on my computer. just extract the file and place it in the Doom3 base folder

    hope it works

    happy gaming
     

    Attached Files:

  3. fantasi

    fantasi My Yngy is My HoneY! Folding Team

    Messages:
    307
    Location:
    Perth
    nono, the thing is, it used to work before that, i did that flash light thing wif doom3? yea and now it doesnt work :(

    and i do own a legit copy :p
     
  4. Peter

    Peter OSNN Junior Addict

    Messages:
    12
    yeh adding the flash light mod to Doom3 plays with the DLL and CFG files so that the flash light mod works, did you try replacing the dll with the 1 i posted?
    i have a legit copy to but i still use a CD crack :p
     
  5. fantasi

    fantasi My Yngy is My HoneY! Folding Team

    Messages:
    307
    Location:
    Perth
    oh yes i did, peter. but it still doesnt work..:( you using the 1.3 patch from doom3 page?
     
  6. lancer

    lancer There is no answer! Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    3,093
    Location:
    FL, USA
    suggestion, just uninstall doom reinstall... amazing it works. instead of wasting 2 days asking questions. Hope this doesn't sound rude, but its usually quicker to reinstall a game than trying to figure out what you did.
     
  7. LeeJend

    LeeJend Moderator

    Messages:
    5,291
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    What lancer said. But, before you re-install download the update again, it may have been corrupted in download. Then;

    -Original Install form CD
    -Install Patch
    -Play and make sure it works.
    -Now install any hacks/cracks/mod's/etc
    Play and make sure it works again. If it doesn't you know it's the mod's not the game or official patch or your computer.

    You have to be very careful with updating a mod'd game. The mod's usually make the official p[atches not work. (Yes, this is intentional.)
     
  8. American Zombie

    American Zombie Moderator Staff Member Political User

    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    Seattle
    The flashlight mod is named pak005.pk4 and the Doom patch had a pak005.pk4 file as well. Before the patch there was no pak005 file so the flashlight mod being named pak005 was ok.
    All you need to do is re-install patch and before you put flashlight mod in rename it to pak006.pk4 so it does not overwrite the pak005 file that the patch installed.
     
  9. lancer

    lancer There is no answer! Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    3,093
    Location:
    FL, USA
    just what american said, i install about 10 mods to doom3, (as the game is too ûûûûe and boring without them) and i never had any trouble, you could literally rename the packs to pak100, so you know any pak 100 and over is a mod, this way there is no conclicts with official patches.
     
  10. random78

    random78 OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    1
    Hi guys,

    You've probably already solved this issue, but I was recently getting the same problem with the "ERROR: couldn't load game dynamic library" message. After much tinkering I did the following and now it loads perfectly, is incredibly stable and has increased both graphic and frame rate performance all in one:

    (btw: I'm running a Sony Vaio VGN S28GP laptop - 1 GB RAM, ATI Mobility Radeon 9700 64 Mb)

    1. Upgrade your BIOs to at least R0071G4
    2. Upgrade your Direct X to at least V9c
    3. Upgrade your ATI Graphics Drivers to ATI Catalyst 5.3 (with Mobility patch)
    4. If you are using a V1.1 No CD patch, make sure you copy the Doom.exe (which comes with the patch) into your Doom3 folder BEFORE installing the official Doom 3 V1.1 Patch from the ID Software site.

    If it still doesn't work, try re-installing Doom 3 again and do steps 1-4 again and it should now definitely work perfectly.

    Cheers and Good Playing.... :)
     
  11. bo85

    bo85 OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    2
    i cant get doom 3 to even start up. when i try it says;

    DOOM 1.0.1282 win-x86 Sep 16 2004 16:45:51
    2164 MHz AMD CPU with MMX & 3DNow! & SSE
    448 MB System Memory
    64 MB Video Memory
    Winsock Initialized
    Hostname: your-pl0bmt21n9
    IP: 192.168.1.100
    doom using MMX & SSE for SIMD processing
    enabled Flush-To-Zero mode
    ------ Initializing File System ------
    Loaded pk4 C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\game00.pk4 with checksum 0x7dafc4d4
    Loaded pk4 C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak000.pk4 with checksum 0x28d208f1
    Loaded pk4 C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak001.pk4 with checksum 0x40244be0
    Loaded pk4 C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak002.pk4 with checksum 0xc51ecdcd
    Loaded pk4 C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak003.pk4 with checksum 0xcd79d028
    Loaded pk4 C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak004.pk4 with checksum 0x765e4f8b
    Loaded pk4 C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak005.pk4 with checksum 0x8ffc3621
    Current search path:
    C:\Program Files\Doom 3/base
    C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak005.pk4 (63 files)
    C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak004.pk4 (5137 files)
    C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak003.pk4 (4676 files)
    C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak002.pk4 (6120 files)
    C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak001.pk4 (8972 files)
    C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak000.pk4 (2698 files)
    C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\game00.pk4 (2 files)
    game DLL: 0x0 in pak: 0x0
    file system initialized.
    --------------------------------------
    ----- Initializing Decls -----
    ------------------------------
    ------- Initializing renderSystem --------
    using ARB renderSystem
    renderSystem initialized.
    --------------------------------------
    5151 strings read from strings/english.lang
    Couldn't open journal files
    execing editor.cfg
    execing default.cfg
    couldn't exec DoomConfig.cfg
    couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
    5151 strings read from strings/english.lang
    ----- Initializing Sound System ------
    sound system initialized.
    --------------------------------------
    ----- R_InitOpenGL -----
    Initializing OpenGL subsystem
    ...registered window class
    ...registered fake window class
    ...initializing QGL
    ...calling LoadLibrary( 'opengl32' ): succeeded
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetExtensionsStringARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglSwapIntervalEXT
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetPixelFormatAttribivARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetPixelFormatAttribfvARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglChoosePixelFormatARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglCreatePbufferARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetPbufferDCARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglReleasePbufferDCARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglDestroyPbufferARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglQueryPbufferARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglBindTexImageARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglReleaseTexImageARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglSetPbufferAttribARB
    ...calling CDS: ok
    ...created window @ 0,0 (640x480)
    Initializing OpenGL driver
    ...getting DC: succeeded
    ...PIXELFORMAT 8 selected
    ...creating GL context: succeeded
    ...making context current: succeeded
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetExtensionsStringARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglSwapIntervalEXT
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetPixelFormatAttribivARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetPixelFormatAttribfvARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglChoosePixelFormatARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglCreatePbufferARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetPbufferDCARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglReleasePbufferDCARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglDestroyPbufferARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglQueryPbufferARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglBindTexImageARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglReleaseTexImageARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglSetPbufferAttribARB

    ------- Input Initialization -------
    Initializing DirectInput...
    mouse: DirectInput initialized.
    keyboard: DirectInput initialized.
    ------------------------------------
    sound: STEREO
    ...using GL_ARB_multitexture
    ...using GL_ARB_texture_env_combine
    X..GL_ARB_texture_cube_map not found
    ...using GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3
    ...using GL_ARB_texture_env_add
    X..GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two not found
    X..GL_ARB_texture_compression not found
    X..GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic not found
    ...using GL_EXT_texture_lod
    ...using GL_1.4_texture_lod_bias
    X..GL_EXT_shared_texture_palette not found
    X..GL_EXT_texture3D not found
    ...using GL_EXT_stencil_wrap
    X..GL_NV_register_combiners not found
    X..GL_EXT_stencil_two_side not found
    X..GL_ATI_separate_stencil not found
    X..GL_ATI_fragment_shader not found
    X..GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object not found
    X..GL_ARB_vertex_program not found
    X..GL_ARB_fragment_program not found
    ********************
    ERROR: The current video card / driver combination does not support the necessary features.
    ********************
    Error during initialization
    Shutting down OpenGL subsystem
    ...wglMakeCurrent( NULL, NULL ): success
    ...deleting GL context: success
    ...releasing DC: success
    ...destroying window
    ...resetting display
    ...shutting down QGL
    ...unloading OpenGL DLL


    what does this mean. ihave thenew patch installed and i tried uninstalling and reinstalling the whole game and get the same message everytime. please help.
     
  12. bo85

    bo85 OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    2
    i just got doom 3 and it wont play. it keeps saying

    DOOM 1.0.1282 win-x86 Sep 16 2004 16:45:51
    2164 MHz AMD CPU with MMX & 3DNow! & SSE
    448 MB System Memory
    64 MB Video Memory
    Winsock Initialized
    Hostname: your-pl0bmt21n9
    IP: 192.168.1.100
    doom using MMX & SSE for SIMD processing
    enabled Flush-To-Zero mode
    ------ Initializing File System ------
    Loaded pk4 C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\game00.pk4 with checksum 0x7dafc4d4
    Loaded pk4 C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak000.pk4 with checksum 0x28d208f1
    Loaded pk4 C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak001.pk4 with checksum 0x40244be0
    Loaded pk4 C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak002.pk4 with checksum 0xc51ecdcd
    Loaded pk4 C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak003.pk4 with checksum 0xcd79d028
    Loaded pk4 C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak004.pk4 with checksum 0x765e4f8b
    Loaded pk4 C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak005.pk4 with checksum 0x8ffc3621
    Current search path:
    C:\Program Files\Doom 3/base
    C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak005.pk4 (63 files)
    C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak004.pk4 (5137 files)
    C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak003.pk4 (4676 files)
    C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak002.pk4 (6120 files)
    C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak001.pk4 (8972 files)
    C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\pak000.pk4 (2698 files)
    C:\Program Files\Doom 3\base\game00.pk4 (2 files)
    game DLL: 0x0 in pak: 0x0
    file system initialized.
    --------------------------------------
    ----- Initializing Decls -----
    ------------------------------
    ------- Initializing renderSystem --------
    using ARB renderSystem
    renderSystem initialized.
    --------------------------------------
    5151 strings read from strings/english.lang
    Couldn't open journal files
    execing editor.cfg
    execing default.cfg
    couldn't exec DoomConfig.cfg
    couldn't exec autoexec.cfg
    5151 strings read from strings/english.lang
    ----- Initializing Sound System ------
    sound system initialized.
    --------------------------------------
    ----- R_InitOpenGL -----
    Initializing OpenGL subsystem
    ...registered window class
    ...registered fake window class
    ...initializing QGL
    ...calling LoadLibrary( 'opengl32' ): succeeded
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetExtensionsStringARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglSwapIntervalEXT
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetPixelFormatAttribivARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetPixelFormatAttribfvARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglChoosePixelFormatARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglCreatePbufferARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetPbufferDCARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglReleasePbufferDCARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglDestroyPbufferARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglQueryPbufferARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglBindTexImageARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglReleaseTexImageARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglSetPbufferAttribARB
    ...calling CDS: ok
    ...created window @ 0,0 (640x480)
    Initializing OpenGL driver
    ...getting DC: succeeded
    ...PIXELFORMAT 8 selected
    ...creating GL context: succeeded
    ...making context current: succeeded
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetExtensionsStringARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglSwapIntervalEXT
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetPixelFormatAttribivARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetPixelFormatAttribfvARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglChoosePixelFormatARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglCreatePbufferARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglGetPbufferDCARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglReleasePbufferDCARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglDestroyPbufferARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglQueryPbufferARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglBindTexImageARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglReleaseTexImageARB
    Couldn't find proc address for: wglSetPbufferAttribARB
    ------- Input Initialization -------
    Initializing DirectInput...
    mouse: DirectInput initialized.
    keyboard: DirectInput initialized.
    ------------------------------------
    sound: STEREO
    ...using GL_ARB_multitexture
    ...using GL_ARB_texture_env_combine
    X..GL_ARB_texture_cube_map not found
    ...using GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3
    ...using GL_ARB_texture_env_add
    X..GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two not found
    X..GL_ARB_texture_compression not found
    X..GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic not found
    ...using GL_EXT_texture_lod
    ...using GL_1.4_texture_lod_bias
    X..GL_EXT_shared_texture_palette not found
    X..GL_EXT_texture3D not found
    ...using GL_EXT_stencil_wrap
    X..GL_NV_register_combiners not found
    X..GL_EXT_stencil_two_side not found
    X..GL_ATI_separate_stencil not found
    X..GL_ATI_fragment_shader not found
    X..GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object not found
    X..GL_ARB_vertex_program not found
    X..GL_ARB_fragment_program not found
    ********************
    ERROR: The current video card / driver combination does not support the necessary features.
    ********************
    Error during initialization
    Shutting down OpenGL subsystem
    ...wglMakeCurrent( NULL, NULL ): success
    ...deleting GL context: success
    ...releasing DC: success
    ...destroying window
    ...resetting display
    ...shutting down QGL
    ...unloading OpenGL DLL



    what does this mean
     
  13. Joaquin

    Joaquin OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    1
    It works well enough for me... I'm using Windows Xp.