Disconnecting

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by Tricky2050, Dec 3, 2006.

  1. Tricky2050

    Tricky2050 OSNN Junior Addict

    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Another problem with my router to add to a LONG list.
    Ever since i set up a LAN with my Linksys BEFSR41 v4 I have been had a problem with maintaining a constant connection to the internet. Every 10-20 mins the internet disconnects for a few seconds making downloading files over 5mb is an absolute nightmare. The message " a network cable has been disconnected" flashes up for a few seconds and any pages loading or downloads stop. After a minute the connection is back to normal. There is no problem with the cables as I was previously able to use the internet without disconnection when I was connected directly to the modem. I have tried usual turning off and resetting modem and router with no success. Any help again is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Brad

    Brad Moderator Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    2,280
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    Are you using any encryption or authentication?
     
  3. Shamus MacNoob

    Shamus MacNoob Moderator Political User

    Messages:
    4,199
    Location:
    L'Ile Perrot Quebec

    Check for a firmware update I am pretty sure that is the problem.
     
  4. Tricky2050

    Tricky2050 OSNN Junior Addict

    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    tbh i have no idea lol. How do i check?
     
  5. Brad

    Brad Moderator Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    2,280
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    Did you set up anything on the router in order to start using it, or did you just plug it in and go?
     
  6. lancer

    lancer There is no answer! Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    3,093
    Location:
    FL, USA
  7. Brad

    Brad Moderator Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    2,280
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    Also, do a firmware update as Shamus suggested. Remember to do it over a wired connection though.

    If all else fails, grab some tacos.
     
  8. Shamus MacNoob

    Shamus MacNoob Moderator Political User

    Messages:
    4,199
    Location:
    L'Ile Perrot Quebec

    MMMMMMMMMM tacos !!!
     
  9. Tricky2050

    Tricky2050 OSNN Junior Addict

    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Firmware updated and problem is still there :cry: and yes setup was just plug in and go. Also there are a lack of tacos in the UK.
     
  10. lancer

    lancer There is no answer! Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    3,093
    Location:
    FL, USA
    tricky try this, unplug your router power and network cable. and leave the router unplugged for 30 mins, then plug it back in, first with the network cable then the power cable, simply plug it back into your pc and see if you are still having issues, if so it is probably your isp.... make sure your connection isn't on a timeout switch....
     
  11. Tricky2050

    Tricky2050 OSNN Junior Addict

    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    I think the problem is fixed. As of now everything appears to be running smooth. I changed the settings so that both pc and mac were using 10 mbps full duplex. Thanks for the help
     
  12. Tricky2050

    Tricky2050 OSNN Junior Addict

    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    It would appear that my last reply was a lie. The pc is still disconnecting. I have tried resetting modem by leaving it off for over 30 mins and still it disconnects. Also something I neglected to mention in the beginning is that there is a pc and mac connected to the router abd both suffer the problem. Arg its damn frustrating. Any more ideas?
     
  13. American Zombie

    American Zombie Moderator Staff Member Political User

    Messages:
    2,934
    Location:
    Seattle
    Have you tried connection without router?

    Plug straight from modem to PC and see what happens.
     
  14. Tricky2050

    Tricky2050 OSNN Junior Addict

    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Yeh pc to modem direct there is no problems with connection at all. The problem only happens when connected to the router. Any ideas?
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2006