"Default User" folder

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by tibpol, Dec 22, 2004.

  1. tibpol

    tibpol OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    4
    I deleted the "Default User" folder under "C:\Documents and Settings" by accident.
    Now I have "All Users" and "Owner" folders only.
    My computer is working ok.
    What should I do? Should I worry? Can I recreate the “Default User” folder?

    Thank You,
    tibpol
     
  2. omg its nlm

    omg its nlm lvl 17 Hax Folding Team

    Messages:
    1,829
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I think you should be alright for the most part. Are there multi users that use this computer? I know I have seen some strange things happen when it was deleted before.
     
  3. fimchick

    fimchick OSNN Senior Addict

    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Whenever a new user logs on for the first time, Windows copies settings from the Default User profile to the newly created user profile. Basically, the Default User profile is as a blueprint that Windows uses to initialize new logins.

    If you are concerned (i.e. if other users besides you will be logging into this computer) then you can follow the instructions below and actually create a custom, default profile.

    Hope this helps!

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?kbid=319974
     
    Khayman likes this.
  4. tibpol

    tibpol OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    4
    Just me, no other user.

    Thank You,
    tibpol