Capacitors Blew!?!

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by Quartersndimes, Dec 31, 2008.

  1. Quartersndimes

    Quartersndimes Complete Genius. . .

    Messages:
    90
    My capacitors apparently blew when I was (stupidly) adding a PCI card to my computer. Only 2 blew, both with the same Info on them: JackCon 1500mF 6.3v -40+105C. That is what is on the stickers. Can I just buy new ones and go on? Or is the mobo toast? It has served me well; I don't want to lose it. It handled everything I have thrown at it. But, if it is not fixable, I am willing to buy another one. Just a little P3, but I love it. Here is part of the DXDIAG if it helps:

    ------------------
    System Information
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 12/30/2008, 09:08:00
    Machine name: ARKANGEL-997241
    Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp.050329-1536)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: ABIT
    System Model: 6A69RA1H
    BIOS: BIOS Rev:0.1
    Processor: Intel Pentium III, ~660MHz
    Memory: 384MB RAM
    Page File: 166MB used, 755MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Thatz it. Help, anyone?
     
  2. trukkmann

    trukkmann OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    110
    Definately fixable, here's a good place to start...
    http://www.badcaps.net/
    They have a forum on there as well. Many people fix LCDs and mobos all the time. Good luck and post how it goes! :)
     
  3. Quartersndimes

    Quartersndimes Complete Genius. . .

    Messages:
    90
    Thank you so much!!! It actually just broke yesterday. I am really greatful. oh, and I looked at the site. Looks kinda old. He said "here in 2007 I still see. . ." Have you used this site latley?
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2009
  4. LeeJend

    LeeJend Moderator

    Messages:
    5,291
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Radio Shack should have some 1500 ufd, 6.3V cap's If not Frye's if you have one near you. If not digikey supplies to the hobbiest. They should only be a couple bucks. Make sure you get ones marked for "computer use" there are many different types with the same ratings meant for different jobs.

    Notes:
    1) There is a line with a - (minus sign) on the cap's. Make sure the new ones are installed with the lead wire marked with the - going into the correct whole in the MB. If not the new ones will blow also.

    2) If you have never soldered before a MB is not the place to start. Get someone who is skilled to do the install. If you have soldered before be aware that one or both sides of the capacitors may have a large amount of circuit metal which means it will take extra heat to remove the old wire. It is very easy to damage MB pads so be carefull on the removal and reinstall.

    Good luck.
     
  5. trukkmann

    trukkmann OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    110
  6. Quartersndimes

    Quartersndimes Complete Genius. . .

    Messages:
    90
    Thanks alot, guys this will really help me. I have been looking around, and I have not found any for my mobo. Again, thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2009