cant install directx 9 in XP

R

ruby lane

Hello
I cannot install the final release of Directx 9.0 on Windows XP. An error message pops up saying that "this program hasn't passed the windows logo test" - no go (and i MEAN no go) from that point. I'm beta testing a game that requires dx9 and would appreciate any help.
(yes, i'm an admin on the machine, yes, i do have all possible windows installer policies set in group policies, all updates, service packs, drivers, crypto service running, AND no, i didn't see that happening before)

thanks for input

Have you tried both DX 9 runtime (small installer; only downloads what is needed) and the DX 9 redist (the whole thing)?

Maybe one or the other will work better. I don't know...just a thought.

Melon

yes i did try both, the 30 meg package as well as web installer. they both end up with the same error.

well, i heard of two, maybe three people on earth having this problem, and no solution whatsoever... i really hope it's not that exotic.

nope, not that. it's been set to ignore for ages now... :((

i'm desperate

probably a stupid question, but i figured why not ask. Did you install SP1 yet? i have no trouble when installing DX9.

BTW, what game are you testing that uses DX9?

uhm...
i might have just figured it out...

i should have checked my logs earlier... like setupapi.log
or DirectX.log, or event viewer. well, it seems i was receiving lots of ESENT errors:

Catalog Database (804) Unable to read the header of logfile C:\WINDOWS\System32\CatRoot2\edb00001.log. Error -530.
event ID 412

I googled for ESENT and came up with this:
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=KB;en-us;q278316

well I was too tired to try this, besides it's closely related, but not exact - error ID might be the same, but the log header's not, so I just renamed ..\System32\CatRoot2\edb00001.log to XYZ_edb00001.log and ran dx9 install. guess what, it worked.