Audigy Digital Out Problem

wessleym

OSNN Addict
Does anybody know how to turn on digital output on a SoundBlaster Audigy sound card? I've checked the "Digital Output Only" checkbox in the Advanced Controls, but the little red light still isn't turning on inside the digital output port. Any suggestions?

Did it work for a while and just recently quit working? I have an Audigy 2 Platinum BTW and haven't had this problem.

Try the KX Project driver. They did a much better job than Creative. It's what I run now, until Creative can do the great job they have done.

I've never tried it before, so I think it has always been this way. I don't think it's broken. I just think I'm doing something wrong.

If you're talking about the digital connectors on the front, did you make sure the front LiveDrive has power to it?

This isn't a LiveDrive. It's an Audigy sound card. It just goes in a PCI slot, so it's not in the front.

what "red light inside the digital output port"? i have an audigy and mine doesn't emit any light whatsoever. :confused:

taurs said:
what "red light inside the digital output port"? i have an audigy and mine doesn't emit any light whatsoever.
Well, digital optical cables allow red light to pass through the cable and into the input on the receiver. Check the end opposite of your card, and you'll see red light coming through the other side. At least, this is the way it works with the digital audio on my Xbox and DVD player. And I'm pretty sure that you can look into the port and see the light coming out. At any rate, I know that no sound is coming out of the port. Doesn't anybody know anything else you are supposed to do besides check that checkbox? There are no special cables or switches internally, are there?

since when do audigy's have optical digital out? unless you're talking about the live! drive, but yu already said you don't have it.

audigy_card1.jpg