Athlon 1700+ XP Processor

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by nwilcox, Mar 30, 2002.

  1. nwilcox

    nwilcox Guest

    I just built a new system and the processor speed in "System" is now reading correct. Updating the BIOS is a pain trying to find the correct one I need on there site. The processor is reading at 1.46 Ghz in "System Properties" I have the board set for 133mhz in the BIOS. Isn't the 1700+ processor a 1.7 Ghz processor? What do you think?

    FIC AD11XP Motherboard
    VIA Chipset
    Athlon 1700+ XP Processor
    256 MB PC2100
    ATA-100 7200 RPM 40.0 GB Western Digital
    Nvidia Geforce MX 420 64MB
    Windows XP Home Edition
     
  2. stuy_b

    stuy_b Guest

    No AMD naming is fuked!!..

    AMD XP1700= 1.47Ghz
    AMD XP1800=1.53Ghz
    AMD XP1900=1.60Ghz

    Stuy_b
     
  3. GoNz0

    GoNz0 NTFS Stoner

    Messages:
    2,781
    Location:
    the year 2525
    think AMD named em inline with there intel equivelent chips.
     
  4. stuy_b

    stuy_b Guest

    Intel naming makes sense.. a P4 1.6 gives you 1.6ghz, but amd xp1600 only gives you 1.40Ghz.

    Dunno where the logic is in XPs naming!.. but its obviously confusing people.
     
  5. dejav00

    dejav00 Guest

    AMD XP's

    AMD is rating the new processors based on how they perform, not necessarily the Ghz, the new XP Processors have more Floting Point Units (FPU) enabling them not to run faster, but move the data through the processor faster.
     
  6. dejav00

    dejav00 Guest

    AMD again

    There's plenty of logic to it, you just have to know what your talking about. Also, to the person that said they were "named" or "dubbed" or whatever by their performance comparison to the intel processor's, you are wrong. Their rated performance Hz were decided by running different benchmarks, and using a ratio between the older AMD processors, and the newer ones. I'd also like to point out, that even tho the P4 has a larger L2 cache, it doesn't really matter due to the fact that it has to also load all the data from the L1 cache before it can load the rest, making it slightly slower...but if your not into computer's, don't worry about it, AMD has always been better than Intel for gaming and mp3 encoding and such, Intel's main market is in retail computer's (Dell, Hewlett Packard, (formerly) Compaq, and other "P4 System for 799 that has no balls), server machines (why else did not ALL Pentium Processors support MMX and 3DNow, and of course, Macintoshes. For anyone out there that needs to come up with a reason why there PC is better than a Mac (only thing macs are good at anyway is Desktop Publishing), the mac, runs SOME filters faster in Photoshop, than in a PC, on a COMPARIBLE processor, and since macs...these test were run on 1.0Ghz machines...at the time, the highest processor released for the mac was 1.0Ghz, while AMD was at 1.2Ghz (Which was proven to be faster than the Intel P4 1.4Ghz).

    Anyway, I think I'm done.

    The Lesson Here:

    AMD is better than Intel

    And stuy_b, you are correct, a P4 1.6 gives you 1.6Ghz, and the XP 1600+ is rated at 1.4Ghz, BUT, that's only what the AMD chip is rated at, it performs well above a P4 1.6Ghz.
     
  7. Fhuising

    Fhuising Guest

    The AMD XP 1700 basicly means it's speeds are the same as the Pentium 4 1,7 Ghz. But it only runs at 1.46 Ghz.

    If you overclock it to like 1.5 Ghz it will actually say that you have a 1900+ processor. It's just in the new architecture of the AMD XP processors.

    Fhuising

    Check: http://www.amd.com
     
  8. dejav00

    dejav00 Guest

    Thx Fhuising

    Thanks for the back-up Fhuisung, you are another Genuine AMD lover.
     
  9. westy1

    westy1 Guest

    I have just upgraded to a XP1700, and I wont be going back to intel again.
     
  10. dejav00

    dejav00 Guest

    AMD!!

    Congrats Westy
     
  11. stapler101

    stapler101 Guest

    this is my kind of thread!!
    Rock on AMD!!!
     
  12. G-Money

    G-Money Big Air

    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Springfield Mo
    I have a 1800+ @ 2000+ and my friend has a P4 1.8 @ 2.0

    I beat him on almost all benchmarks........ :D


    AMD... KICKS butt.
     
  13. allan03

    allan03 Guest

    P4 VS Athlon XP 2100

    http://www6.tomshardware.com/cpu/02q1/020313/index.html

    check out this link guys, i guess u guys prolly know this already, but i just wanted to post it.....

    hehe, only the top P4's beat AMD (old version of P4 sucks!), AMD only won in mp3 encoding.......

    AMD = Home Use
    P4 = Business

    well....thats what they are sayin, anyway, prolly the new AMD chips will blast the top notch P4s...
     
  14. beakjones

    beakjones Guest

    intel naming makes sense, intel doesnt, i still use them for some reason, i dont know
     
  15. G-Money

    G-Money Big Air

    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Springfield Mo

    what ???



    OK.. P4 2.0 gig = 2.0gig but hey...its a P4 maybe it should be a 4.gig ..... Why do you all cry about the name ??? If you had a brain you would know what you where buying !!!

    I know that a AMD XP 1800 is 1.53GHz and the 1900 is at 1.60GHz.

    The name of the CPU is not based on the speed !!!!!!!

    If you know anyting about hardware and CPU's it wouldnt be a problem............
     
  16. stapler101

    stapler101 Guest

    come on Famine, give everyone a break!
    Some of us were not born knowing this stuff, we had to learn it!!
     
  17. G-Money

    G-Money Big Air

    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Springfield Mo
    Rock on brother........... Not trying to bring a man down.......

    Sorry !!

    :cool: