at what temperature should ur pc shut off?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by the_music_man, May 17, 2003.

  1. the_music_man

    the_music_man aka prodj88 =P

    Messages:
    2,401
    Location:
    USA
    i have that program that turns it off it exceeds a certain temperature. can anyone tell me the temperature they think i should put? also plz convert into celcius b/c thats what it uses. thanks again
     
  2. Shamus MacNoob

    Shamus MacNoob Moderator Political User

    Messages:
    4,199
    Location:
    L'Ile Perrot Quebec
    I set mine to warn me at 70C and shut down at 75C

    I have an Athlon 1800+ that runs at see below


    [ WCPUID Version 3.1a (c) 1996-2002 By H.Oda! ]

    Processor #1 : AMD Athlon XP (Model 8) / 8A0CC049
    Platform : Socket A (Socket 462)
    Vendor String : AuthenticAMD
    CPU Type : Original OEM Processor (0)
    Family : 6 (7)
    Model : 8 (8)
    Stepping ID : 0 (0)
    Brand : ----
    APIC : ----
    HT Log.CPU Cnt : ----
    Name String : AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2200+

    Internal Clock : 1826.13 MHz
    System Bus : 292.18 MHz DDR
    System Clock : 146.09 MHz
    Multiplier : 12.5

    L1 I-Cache : 64K Byte
    L1 D-Cache : 64K Byte
    L1 T-Cache : ----
    L1 Cache : ----
    L2 Cache : 256K Byte
    L2 Speed : 1826.13 MHz (Full)

    MMX Unit : Supported
    SSE Unit : Supported
    SSE2 Unit : Not Supported
    MMX2 Unit : Supported
    3DNow! Unit : Supported
    3DNow!+ Unit : Supported

    Host Bridge : 1106:3099.00 [VIA Apollo KT266/A,KT333]
    South Bridge : 1106:3147.00 [VIA VT8233]
    VGA Device : 10DE:0281.A1 [NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4200 with AGP8X]
    Memory Size : 768M Byte
    Memory Clock : ----

    OS Version : Windows XP Version 5.01.2600 Service Pack 1
    -------------- : -----------------------------------
    StdFunc 0 : 00000001 68747541 444D4163 69746E65
    StdFunc 1 : 00000680 00000000 00000000 0383F9FF
    ExtFunc 0 : 80000008 68747541 444D4163 69746E65
    ExtFunc 1 : 00000780 00000000 00000000 C1C3F9FF
    ExtFunc 2 : 20444D41 6C687441 74286E6F 5820296D
    ExtFunc 3 : 32322050 002B3030 00000000 00000000
    ExtFunc 4 : 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
    ExtFunc 5 : 0408FF08 FF20FF10 40020140 40020140
    ExtFunc 6 : 00000000 41004100 01008140 00000000
    ExtFunc 7 : 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000001
    ExtFunc 8 : 00002022 00000000 00000000 00000000
    C0010015h : 00000000 03031008 00000000 82D38B88
    C0010016h : 00000000 00000000 00000000 82D38B88
    C0010017h : 00000000 00000000 00000000 82D38B88
    C0010018h : 00000000 D0000018 00000000 82D38B88
    C0010019h : 0000000F F8000800 00000000 82D38B88
    C001001Ah : 00000000 30000000 00000000 82D38B88
    C001001Bh : 00000000 60031223 00000000 82D38B88
    C0010111h : 00000000 000B0000 00000000 82D38B88
    C0010112h : 00000000 00000000 00000000 82D38B88
    C0010113h : 00000000 00000001 00000000 82D38B88

    ##--- Date 05/16/2003, Time 18:32:09
     
  3. [CpK]Bastid

    [CpK]Bastid Guest

    i use warning at 50
    shutdown at 55
     
  4. Shamus MacNoob

    Shamus MacNoob Moderator Political User

    Messages:
    4,199
    Location:
    L'Ile Perrot Quebec
    What is important is to know the specs of your CPU amd and intel are not the same and not all AMD's are the same you need to know what your cpu can take mine is set to what I stated above but I always have a constant eye on the temps next to my clock I have a little ap that runs and show me all my info fan speeds , rmp's temp, all my voltages ect ..... my pc idles at 38-39c and climbs to 45-47 under stress and that I mean under full load for extended periods of time I loop benchmarks run performance tests as I am always tweaking it and messing around ... motherboard moniter is a good ap for gathering the temps and info

    ..mine is from epox my board maker :)
     
  5. tibboh

    tibboh Arte et Marte

    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Preston England
    I use Winbond Doctor on mine (Abit Mobo)

    System shutoff = 60 deg C
    CPU shutoff = 70 deg C

    (visual/audible warnings before)

    My system runs at 32 deg C
    My CPU runs at 38 deg C
     
  6. Shamus MacNoob

    Shamus MacNoob Moderator Political User

    Messages:
    4,199
    Location:
    L'Ile Perrot Quebec
    Yes forgot to mention the I have alarms set if it starts to get warm lower limit alarm rings in at 60C so I have plenty of time to react but like I said I am always eyeing it anyways :)
     
  7. tibboh

    tibboh Arte et Marte

    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    Preston England
    I cant remember at what temp the warning alarm goes off at, but like youself I am always monitoring (drawback of being an engineer, I suppose).

    Happy monitoring
     
  8. Shamus MacNoob

    Shamus MacNoob Moderator Political User

    Messages:
    4,199
    Location:
    L'Ile Perrot Quebec
    Well hot dang I dunno what is different today but I decieded to edge it up a little more and see how far I can go ... seems for some reason since I installed the new 44.03 dets I am able to get higher fsb << is that possible ? I dunno but I got my little 1800+ @

    [ WCPUID Version 3.1a (c) 1996-2002 By H.Oda! ]

    Processor #1 : AMD Athlon XP (Model 8) / 4F03F437
    Platform : Socket A (Socket 462)
    Vendor String : AuthenticAMD
    CPU Type : Original OEM Processor (0)
    Family : 6 (7)
    Model : 8 (8)
    Stepping ID : 0 (0)
    Brand : ----
    APIC : ----
    HT Log.CPU Cnt : ----
    Name String : AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2200+

    Internal Clock : 1876.46 MHz <<<<<< HOTDOG
    System Bus : 300.23 MHz DDR <<< BUUUUUUYAAAAAA
    System Clock : 150.12 MHz <<<< nice
    Multiplier : 12.5

    L1 I-Cache : 64K Byte
    L1 D-Cache : 64K Byte
    L1 T-Cache : ----
    L1 Cache : ----
    L2 Cache : 256K Byte
    L2 Speed : 1876.46 MHz (Full)

    MMX Unit : Supported
    SSE Unit : Supported
    SSE2 Unit : Not Supported
    MMX2 Unit : Supported
    3DNow! Unit : Supported
    3DNow!+ Unit : Supported

    Host Bridge : 1106:3099.00 [VIA Apollo KT266/A,KT333]
    South Bridge : 1106:3147.00 [VIA VT8233]
    VGA Device : 10DE:0281.A1 [NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4200 with AGP8X]
    Memory Size : 768M Byte
    Memory Clock : ----

    OS Version : Windows XP Version 5.01.2600 Service Pack 1
    -------------- : -----------------------------------


    ##--- Date 05/16/2003, Time 19:24:50

    :)
     
  9. melon

    melon MS-DOS 2.0 Political User

    Messages:
    854
    Location:
    Ásgarðr
    To answer the original question, I would say that it depends on your heatsink and fan. A stock AMD fan / heatsink would keep me at around 53 C. I would get worried around 60 C.

    However, I then switched to a Swiftech heatsink with an 80 mm Thermaltake Smart Fan II and now I'm at 38 C, even under load. I get worried slightly when this machine hits 45 C for that reason (luckily it never has).

    Melon
     
  10. Taurus

    Taurus hardware monkey

    Messages:
    3,206
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    the temps from one board to another can very greatly. something as simple as if the thermal sensor in the cpu socket is touching the bottom of the cpu or not can have a huge difference.

    this is one reason why some people claim 35° under full load and others are in the upper-40's idle. i would try not to compare your temps to any one else's unless your board reads directly from the themal diode embedded in the athlon xp cpu.

    [edit] check out my post here.
     
  11. the_music_man

    the_music_man aka prodj88 =P

    Messages:
    2,401
    Location:
    USA
    will could you recomend me a temperature? my computer is an AMD athlon 900mhz. and i think its usually around 35C when i start it.
     
  12. RogerPhillis

    RogerPhillis Guest

    I would say that 60 degrees C would be approx cut off for Athlon XPs and maybe 50 -55 C for Pentium P4. with above standard heatsinks and Arctic Silver.
    Most mobos have ability to set this cut off in the Bios.
     
  13. Cosmin

    Cosmin Graphic Designer

    Messages:
    1,633
    Location:
    Romania
    until reaches over 60 you shouldn't worry .