|
|
![]() |
|
|
Top | #1 |
|
OSNN Proxy
Joined: January 2004
Location: Kings Hill, West Malling, Kent, England.
Posts: 3,330
Reputation: 1020
Power: 145 |
You know the drill, ''we will never ask you for pw's or customer account numbers etc..'' This is standard for all sites you need pw's for. So if you're an Abbey user for on-line banking and you receive these mail messages in ne mail account (even if you're not a customer) then goto www.abbey.com hit login and see details for forwarding the e-mail details of the scam. You never know they might have a reward for you if a conviction is done. |
|
|
|
|
|
Top | #2 |
|
I may actually be insane.
Joined: March 2002
Location: Midlands, England
Posts: 15,800
Reputation: 2877
Power: 310 |
Nice heads up.
|
|
|
|
|
|
Top | #3 |
|
OSNN Proxy
Joined: January 2004
Location: Kings Hill, West Malling, Kent, England.
Posts: 3,330
Reputation: 1020
Power: 145 |
Important warning about Internet banking fraud
Important notice – Wednesday 26th May – An e-mail alleging to be from Abbey is currently in circulation. The email asks users to follow a link to confirm registration information. Please do not click on the link and do not enter any information. Abbey will never send you an e-mail asking you to enter, reconfirm or change your security or card details. We will never ask you to tell us your passwords by e-mail or over the phone. If you think you may have revealed your security details in any way, or if you receive any suspicious looking emails, please call us on 0845 600 4388. THIS IS WHAT IT SAYS!!!! |
|
|
|
|
|
Top | #4 |
|
I Rule
Joined: July 2002
Location: Teesside, the land of smog
Posts: 6,547
Reputation: 2337
Power: 209 |
I received one the other month from Nationwide who I bank with.I deleted it straight away
|
|
|
|
|
|
Top | #5 |
|
OSNN Proxy
Joined: January 2004
Location: Kings Hill, West Malling, Kent, England.
Posts: 3,330
Reputation: 1020
Power: 145 |
I think the Abbey should rephrase about getting suspicious e-mails. I get like 600 suspicious looking e-mails every week.
Teach Abbey workers for spending all of their time surfing on the net for porn, sitting in chat rooms and swapping files. |
|
|
|
|
|
Top | #6 |
|
The Last High
Joined: December 2001
Location: London
Posts: 18,510
Blog Entries: 51
Reputation: 3652
Power: 349 |
A few years back I used to get mail from the bank telling me that I owed them money for my barclaycard. So I hid them in the draw and mentally blocked them out.
Did pay in the end tho
|
|
|
|
|
|
Top | #7 |
|
OSNN Proxy
Joined: January 2004
Location: Kings Hill, West Malling, Kent, England.
Posts: 3,330
Reputation: 1020
Power: 145 |
Wish I could get rid of my gf's credit card costing a fortune.
|
|
|
|
|
|
Top | #8 |
|
In the beginning......
Joined: September 2002
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 3,480
Reputation: 1370
Power: 165 |
Originally Posted by Lee
I know what you mean
|
|
|
|
|
|
Top | #9 |
|
Good grief Charlie Brown
Joined: May 2002
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 5,920
Reputation: 560
Power: 187 |
This is a world wide problem. Happens regularly over here. Always think before clicking anything.
|
|
|
|
|
|
Top | #10 |
|
OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined: March 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 7,805
Reputation: 1490
Power: 217 |
apparently to lure the less savvy into divulging their bank details you would send them to something like
http://www.barclays.co.uk@osnn.net/f...r/bank/numbers and they believe its barclays cause the url starts with barclays url (though its actually an HTTP Auth Username) and shows them the barclays webpage through a server side include and a popup (coming from their site) asking for the bank details, and because not enough people know that a bank will never do this, and enough people dont know enough about the web and things like this it seems to work quite effectively |
|
|
|
|
|
Top | #11 |
|
OSNN Advanced
Joined: June 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 4,252
Reputation: 1160
Power: 162 |
Basically all bank customers will receive some kind of email scam like this.
I've received one supposedlly from Halifax, HSBC... and some other ones that I'm not too familiar with. ![]() I never hit their quick link in their email, always closed the window and opened up a new browser and typed in the banks address manually. Long process, but safer than clicking on a link.
|
|
|
|
|
|
Top | #12 |
|
- geek -
Joined: September 2003
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 5,224
Reputation: 1730
Power: 175 |
Originally Posted by Geffy
I think newest Mozilla has built in feature that warns the user with links like that I believe.
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| I Don't Get These Fake Auctions | Kush | Green Room | 9 | September 27th, 2010 1:25pm |
| ‘Man in the browser’ is new security threat to online banking | Dark Atheist | Submitted News | 0 | November 27th, 2007 8:19pm |
| Probably Fake, but still funny | Aprox | Green Room | 3 | August 15th, 2005 10:05pm |
| Fake Games 4! | Electronic Punk | Funny Farm | 10 | August 3rd, 2004 9:13pm |
| HELP ...cant go pass login screen cause of custom login program... | steveklebs | Windows Desktop Systems | 3 | January 26th, 2002 11:38am |